Skip to main content

YVR and Musqueam Honour and Mourn the Children Buried at the Former Residential School

At YVR, like most of our nation, we’ve spent the last few days processing the devastating findings of the Tk’emlups te Secwepenc Nation’s research team regarding the former Kamloops Indian Residential School and the children who never came home.

YVR and all 26,000 people who work here are dedicated to the business of connecting people with one another. We asked what we can do, and worked with our partner, Musqueam, to come together to share a moment of silence to reflect, honour, grieve and offer support to those affected.

On May 31, 2021 at 2:15 p.m. we gathered outside the international terminal, taking an opportunity after being apart for so long, distanced, masked to acknowledge this experience and reflect as a community. We were honoured to have Musqueam Chief Wayne Sparrow and members of the community join us, sharing words, culture, and an important message about reconciliation.

Chief Sparrow shared that his father was a residential school survivor and emphasized that Indigenous communities have continued to experience sorrow from the residential school system. “[The discovery of the buried children] was hard to hear, and it won’t be the last time. There are thousands of children still missing, not just from residential schools. Each and every one of you are going to help all of our communities, we need to talk about it.”

“Reconciliation isn’t just about the future, it’s also about acknowledging and sharing the responsibility of what’s happened before, bearing witness to these horrific events and taking obligation of this responsibility forward” emphasized Tamara Vrooman, President & CEO, Vancouver Airport Authority.

In honour of the 215 children who died at the residential school, YVR will light the control tower in orange and flags will be flown at half-mast for 215 hours.

The small amount of time that we spent together and actions of remembrance will never proportionately reflect this loss, or terrible history, but it is a reminder that we need to continue on this path towards reconciliation.

We have always had this as our responsibility and will to continue to share resources and identify ways to strengthen our work with Musqueam.

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.

Passer au contenu principal

YVR et Musqueam honorent et font le deuil des enfants enterrés à l'ancienne école résidentielle

À YVR, comme dans la plupart de notre pays, nous avons passé les derniers jours à réfléchir à propos des découvertes dévastatrices de l'équipe de recherche de la nation Tk'emlups te Secwepenc concernant l'ancien pensionnat indien de Kamloops et les enfants qui ne sont jamais rentrés à la maison.

YVR et les 26 000 personnes qui travaillent ici se consacrent connecter les gens ensemble. Nous avons demandé ce que nous pouvions faire et avons travaillé avec notre partenaire, Musqueam, pour nous réunir pour partager un moment de silence afin de réfléchir, d'honorer, de pleurer et d'offrir du soutien aux personnes touchées.

Le 31 mai 2021 à 14h15 nous nous sommes réunis à l'extérieur du terminal international, profitant de l'occasion après avoir été séparés pendant si longtemps, éloignés, masqués pour reconnaître cette expérience et réfléchir en tant que communauté. Nous avons été honorés que le chef de Musqueam Wayne Sparrow et des membres de la communauté se joignent à nous, partageant des mots, leur culture et un message important sur la réconciliation.

Le chef Sparrow a expliqué que son père était un survivant des pensionnats et a souligné que les communautés autochtones ont continué à ressentir le chagrin du système des écoles résidentielles. « [La découverte des enfants enterrés] était difficile à entendre, et ce ne sera pas la dernière fois. Des milliers d'enfants sont toujours portés disparus, pas seulement des pensionnats. Chacun d'entre vous va aider toutes nos communautés, nous devons en parler. »

« La réconciliation ne concerne pas seulement l'avenir, il s'agit également de reconnaître et de partager la responsabilité de ce qui s'est passé auparavant, de témoigner de ces événements horribles et d'assumer cette responsabilité », a souligné Tamara Vrooman, présidente et chef de la direction, L’administration de l’aéroport international de Vancouver.

En l'honneur des 215 enfants décédés au pensionnat, YVR allumera la tour de contrôle en orange et les drapeaux flotteront en berne pendant 215 heures.

Le peu de temps que nous avons passé ensemble et les actions de commémoration ne refléteront jamais proportionnellement cette perte, ou cette terrible histoire, mais c'est un rappel que nous devons continuer sur cette voie vers la réconciliation.

Nous avons toujours eu cela comme notre responsabilité et nous continuerons à partager des ressources et à identifier des moyens de renforcer notre travail avec Musqueam.

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.