Advisory: New travel requirements for travellers to YVR.
Details
Skip to main content

Transport Canada to Require Negative COVID-19 Test Results for Travellers to Canada

Transport Canada announced today that effective Thursday, January 7, at 12:01 a.m. EST (January 6, 9:01 p.m. PST) all air passengers over the age of five will be required to test negative for COVID-19 before travelling from another country to Canada. 

Prior to boarding a flight to Canada, passengers must present to the airline documentation of a negative laboratory test result. Transport Canada further outlines that the test must be performed using a COVID-19 molecular polymerase chain reaction (or PCR) test and must be taken within 72 hours prior to scheduled departure to Canada.

It’s important to note that anyone who receives a negative test result and enters Canada must still complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine. A reminder that everyone entering Canada is required to provide accurate information to government officials and must answer all questions truthfully when entering Canada and/or contacted during the 14-day quarantine period. Failure to comply could result in up to six months in prison and/or up to $750,000 in fines.

Travellers are advised to monitor @Transport_GC and @CanBorder on Twitter for more information. Questions about this new requirement should be directed to your airline.

More information from Transport Canada is available here.

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.

Avis: Nouvelles exigences pour les voyageurs à YVR.
Détails
Passer au contenu principal

Transports Canada exigera un résultat négatif au test de dépistage de la COVID 19 pour les voyageurs entrant au Canada

Transports Canada a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’à compter du jeudi 7 janvier à 0 h 01 HE (le 6 janvier à 21 h 01 HP), tous les passagers aériens âgés de cinq ans ou plus devront être déclarés négatifs à la COVID‑19 avant qu’ils n’effectuent un voyage à partir d’un pays étranger vers le Canada. 

La documentation d’un résultat négatif à un test effectué en laboratoire doit être présentée au transporteur aérien avant l’embarquement sur un vol à destination du Canada. Transports Canada précise en outre que le test doit être effectué au moyen d’un test d’amplification en chaîne par polymérase (test PCR) pour le dépistage de la COVID-19 et être réalisé au cours des 72 heures avant le départ prévu du voyageur à destination du Canada.

Il est important de souligner que toute personne qui reçoit un résultat négatif au test de dépistage et qui est autorisée à entrer au Canada doit quand même se soumettre à la quarantaine obligatoire de 14 jours complets. Nous vous rappelons que toute personne qui entre au Canada doit fournir des renseignements exacts aux représentants du gouvernement et doit répondre véridiquement à toutes les questions que ces représentants lui posent à son arrivée au Canada et/ou lorsqu’ils communiquent avec elle pendant sa période de quarantaine de 14 jours. Le non-respect de ces directives pourrait entraîner une peine d'emprisonnement maximal de six mois et/ou une amende pouvant atteindre 750 000 $.

Nous conseillons aux voyageurs de surveiller les comptes @Transport_GC et @FrontiereCan sur Twitter pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements à cet égard. Toute question concernant cette nouvelle exigence doit être adressée à votre transporteur aérien.

De plus amples renseignements de Transports Canada sont disponibles ici.

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.