Advisory: New travel requirements at YVR.
Details
Skip to main content

New Federal Regulations for Air Travellers

All travellers are now required to wear non-medical masks or face coverings during travel

Starting Monday, April 20, the Government of Canada has announced that all travellers must have a removable non-medical mask or face covering large enough to cover their mouth and nose during their travel through Canadian airports and in-flight.

  • Travellers must confirm that they have the mandatory non-medical mask or face covering as part of the registration or check-in process otherwise they will not be allowed to continue on their journey.
  • Travellers will be asked to cover their mouth and nose at airport screening points, when they cannot physically distance from others, or as directed by airline employees or public health officials.
  • Travellers are advised to follow the current Public Health Agency of Canada’s (PHAC) guidance on face coverings here. PHAC has included requirements for an appropriate non-medical mask or face covering in addition to instructions on how to use a mask and instructions for making a face covering if you are unable to purchase one.
  • YVR is not able to provide any form of masks at the airport. It is the passenger’s responsibility to have the appropriate face covering.

Transport Canada has outlined a number of exceptions where face coverings must not be worn:

  • Children under two years old.
  • Passengers with breathing difficulties unrelated to COVID-19.
  • At the boarding gate, after handing documents to the air carrier representative, a passenger will be asked to step back to an appropriate distance and lower their face covering for identity verification. After the verification is complete, the passenger can then re-cover their mouth and nose before collecting their documents.
  • During the flight, when the safety of the person could be endangered by wearing a face covering; or when the person is eating, drinking or taking oral medications.
  • At the Customs-controlled area of the airport. Travellers will need to lower their face covering to have their photo taken at the Primary Inspection Kiosk or when asked to do so by a Canada Border Services Agency officer or a Public Health Agency of Canada and/or provincial or territorial official.

PHAC has stated that wearing a non-medical mask or face covering over the mouth and nose is another way to prevent your respiratory droplets from contaminating others or landing on surfaces. Existing public health and good hygiene practices including physical distancing and frequent hand washing, are still the most effective methods to limit the spread of the virus.

The new federal requirement is in addition to the PHAC measures that are already in place at YVR including: mandating airlines to assess all travellers for COVID-19 symptoms at the point of origin, requiring travellers to self-declare if they have symptoms at border kiosks, increased screening from CBSA officers and more. For more information on how YVR is addressing COVID-19, please visit yvr.ca/coronavirus

More information about the new regulation is available on the Transport Canada website here.


We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.

Passer au contenu principal

Nouveau règlement fédéral pour les voyageurs aériens

Tous les voyageurs sont maintenant tenus de porter un couvre‑visage ou un masque non médical pendant le voyage

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé que, à compter du lundi 20 avril, tous les voyageurs doivent porter un couvre-visage ou un masque non médical amovible suffisamment grand pour couvrir leur bouche et leur nez pendant leur voyage, autant dans les aéroports canadiens que durant les vols.

  • Les voyageurs doivent confirmer qu’ils ont le couvre-visage ou le masque non médical obligatoire dans le cadre du processus d’enregistrement, sinon ils ne seront pas autorisés à continuer leur déplacement.
  • Les voyageurs seront priés de se couvrir la bouche et le nez aux points de contrôle à l’aéroport lorsqu’ils ne peuvent se tenir à une distance suffisante les uns des autres, ou selon les directives des employés des transporteurs aériens ou des responsables de la santé publique.
  • On recommande aux voyageurs de respecter les lignes directrices actuelles de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) sur les couvre-visage qui se trouvent ici. L’ASPC énonce notamment des exigences relatives à un couvre-visage ou à un masque non médical approprié en plus de fournir des directives sur la façon d’utiliser un masque et des instructions expliquant comment fabriquer un couvre-visage si vous n’êtes pas en mesure d’en acheter un.
  • YVR ne peut fournir aucun masque à l’aéroport. Il incombe au passager d’avoir un couvre-visage approprié.

Transports Canada a souligné un certain nombre d’exceptions à l’obligation de porter un couvre-visage :

  • Enfants de moins de deux ans.
  • Passagers ayant des difficultés respiratoires autres que celles découlant de la COVID-19.
  • À la porte d’embarquement, après avoir remis les documents au représentant du transporteur aérien, les passagers seront priés de se placer à une distance appropriée et de baisser leur couvre-visage à des fins de vérification d’identité. Une fois la vérification terminée, le passager peut recouvrir sa bouche et son nez avant de récupérer ses documents.
  • Pendant le vol, dans les situations où la sécurité du passager pourrait être compromise par le port du couvre-visage; ou quand il mange, boit ou avale des médicaments.
  • Dans la zone de contrôle des douanes de l’aéroport. Les voyageurs devront retirer leur couvre‑visage pour la photo à la borne d’inspection primaire ou à la demande d’un agent de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada ou d’un gouvernement provincial ou territorial.

L’ASPC a déclaré que le port d’un couvre-visage ou d’un masque non médical par-dessus la bouche et le nez est une façon supplémentaire d’éviter que vos gouttelettes respiratoires contaminent les autres passagers ou atterrissent sur différentes surfaces. Les politiques actuelles en matière de santé publique et les bonnes pratiques d’hygiène, y compris la distanciation physique et le lavage fréquent des mains, demeurent les méthodes les plus efficaces pour limiter la propagation du virus.

Le nouveau règlement fédéral s’ajoute aux mesures de l’ASPC qui sont déjà en place à YVR, notamment : l’obligation pour les compagnies aériennes de procéder à une évaluation de tous les voyageurs afin de vérifier qu’ils ne présentent pas de symptômes de la COVID-19 au point d’origine; la déclaration obligatoire pour tous les voyageurs de tout symptôme aux bornes de contrôle frontalier; le contrôle accru de la part des agents de l’ASFC et plus encore. Pour en savoir plus sur les mesures que YVR met en œuvre en raison de la situation liée à la COVID-19, veuillez consulter yvr.ca/coronavirus.

De plus amples renseignements sur le nouveau règlement sont disponibles ici sur le site Web de Transports Canada.

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.