Skip to main content

Templeton Area Redevelopment Engagement

Vancouver Airport Authority (YVR) is planning to redevelop approximately 44 acres of land in the Templeton Area, adjacent to Burkeville, a Sea Island residential neighbourhood.

YVR is redeveloping approximately 44 acres of land in the Templeton Area, adjacent to Burkeville, a Sea Island residential community to create an enhanced greenspace and a new cargo and logistics facility.

We began engaging with our Burkeville neighbours about this project in 2017. We listened and took community feedback into account when designing the final look and feel of the greenspace and the pathway to promote peaceful enjoyment of the greenspace while connecting people with the land. More engagement will follow as plans for the new cargo and logistics facility advance. This page includes an archive of key engagements to date.

Construction Phase Community Engagement

(July 2020 to present)

  • In 2021, working with the Sea Island Community Association (SICA), we shared regular project updates in the Sea Island Times community newsletter. We thank SICA for working with us to keep our neighbours informed!
  • On 2 December 2020, YVR hosted an online community meeting to share the results of the October community survey, provide an update on project construction activities, and discuss additional construction mitigation measures. The presentation and meeting summary are available (December 14, 2020).

Early Planning and Community Engagement

(August 2018 to June 2020)

In August 2018, YVR invited Burkeville residents to volunteer for the second Community Advisory Committee for the Templeton Area Redevelopment Project. As part of early planning, YVR: 

  • Provided an update on next steps for the engagement process and requested the community’s participation in the upcoming subsequent phase of planning including plans to develop a five-member Advisory Committee (August 24 - September 5, 2018, extended to September 10, 2018). Notification was provided through email, door-to-door mail and through the Burkeville Community Facebook group.
  • Responded to the the 14 community members expressed interest in joining the community advisory committee and confirmed their availability to attend the meetings on September 18 and October 2, 2018.
  • Coordinated with Sea Island Community Association (SICA) to randomly selected the five community advisory members in a draw. (September 11, 2018) All volunteers were notified of the outcome and YVR confirmed final committee members. One individual was unable to attend the meetings and a redraw took place (September 12, 2018). An update to the community introducing the committee members was sent to the project subscribers. (September 13, 2018)
  • Met with the Advisory Committee on September 18, 2018 and on Oct 2, 2018.
  • Provided a summary of the meeting outcomes from the meeting on September 18. The presentation from the meeting is also available. (September 20, 2018) NOTE: all images contained within the presentation are conceptual and intended to guide discussion with the Community Advisory Committee.
  • Provided a summary of the meeting outcomes from the meeting on October 2. The presentation from the meeting is also available. (October 10, 2018) NOTE: all images contained within the presentation are conceptual and intended to guide discussion with the Community Advisory Committee.
  • Sought community feedback on design elements, enhancements and amenities for the Templeton Corridor via an online engagement survey. The survey closed on December 10, 2018. 
  • Phase 3 Engagement sought input on the overall design of the corridor space, social commons area options, multi-use path, landscaping and public art. Throughout this phase, an online engagement website provided comprehensive information about YVR's planning and engagement efforts to-date and invited community dialogue.
  • YVR hosted a Community Information Meeting for Burkeville residents on February 7, 2019. A summary of the meeting, the presentationthe display boards and the Q&A summary are available. The Phase 3 Consultation Summary Report and the Appendix are available. 

(Winter 2017 to Spring 2018)

In November 2017, YVR began initial engagement with Burkeville residents about the Templeton Area Redevelopment Project.

  • Launched an online survey to gather community input (November 23 - December 14, 2017). Members of the Burkeville Community Facebook group also invited to participate and provided with a link to the online survey.
  • Compiled a Consultation Summary Report reflecting the input of the 136 Burkeville residents who responded to the survey and distributed it to those that requested project updates. (January 12, 2018)
  • Provided a project update with information about potential redevelopment and ways to participate in the December 2017 issue of the Sea Island Times, a community newsletter distributed to Sea Island residents.
  • Requested the community’s participation in subsequent phases of planning including plans to develop a five-member Advisory Committee and host future community open houses (Spring 2018)
  • Collaborated with the community to identify and convene a Community Advisory Committee. (January 12 - January 27, 2018)
  • Convened and reported out on the first two Advisory Committee meetings (January 30 and February 13, March 4, 2018)
  • Hosted two Community Open Houses (April 29 and May 4, 2018)
  • Hosted an online survey to receive community feedback on proposed plans (April 29 to May 4, 2018)
  • The Discussion Guide and the Display Boards were made available to review (May, June, 2018)
  • The community feedback survey responses were compiled into a Consultation Summary Report and made available for community review. (June 2018)\

Planned Future Engagement

We appreciate the community’s involvement throughout the consultation process and we look forward to engaging with you as planning continues.

Sign up for updates

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.

Passer au contenu principal

Réaménagement du secteur Templeton

L’Administration de l’aéroport de Vancouver (YVR) étudie une proposition de réaménagement d’environ 44 acres de terrain dans le secteur Templeton, adjacent à Burkeville, un quartier résidentiel de l’île Sea.

YVR réaménage environ 44 acres de terrain dans le secteur Templetonadjacent à Burkeville, une communauté résidentielle de Sea Island, afin de créer un espace vert amélioré et une nouvelle installation de fret et de logistique.

Nous avons commencé à discuter de ce projet avec nos voisins de Burkeville en 2017. Nous avons écouté les commentaires de la communauté et en avons tenu compte lors de la conception finale de l’espace vert et du sentier, afin d’en faire un endroit paisible qui relie les gens à la terre. D’autres engagements suivront à mesure que les plans de la nouvelle installation de fret et de logistique progresseront. Cette page comprend une archive des engagements clés à ce jour.

Engagement communautaire dans la phase de construction

(de juillet 2020 à aujourd’hui)

  • En 2021, en collaboration avec la Sea Island Community Association (SICA), nous avons communiqué des mises à jour régulières sur le projet dans le bulletin communautaire du Sea Island Times. Nous remercions la SICA de travailler avec nous pour tenir nos voisins informés!
  • Le 2 décembre 2020, YVR a organisé une réunion communautaire en ligne afin de transmettre les résultats du sondage communautaire d’octobre, de fournir une mise à jour sur les activités du projet de construction et de discuter d’autres mesures d’atténuation en lien avec la construction. La présentation et le résumé de la réunionsont accessibles (14 décembre 2020).

Planification hâtive et engagement communautaire

(d’août 2018 à juin 2020)

En août 2018, YVR a invité les résidents de Burkeville à faire du bénévolat pour le deuxième comité consultatif communautaire du projet de réaménagement du secteur Templeton. Dans le cadre de la planification hâtive, YVR :

  • A fait le point sur les prochaines étapes du processus de mobilisation et a demandé la participation de la collectivité à la prochaine phase de planification, y compris la création d’un comité consultatif de cinq membres (du 24 août au 5 septembre 2018, prolongation jusqu’au 10 septembre 2018). L’avis a été envoyé par courriel, par courrier porte-à-porte et par l’entremise du groupe Facebook de la communauté de Burkeville.
  • A répondu aux 14 membres de la collectivité qui ont manifesté leur intérêt à se joindre au comité consultatif communautaire et a confirmé sa disponibilité pour assister aux réunions du 18 septembre et du 2 octobre 2018.
  • A collaboré avec la Sea Island Community Association (SICA) pour sélectionner au hasard les cinq membres du comité consultatif communautaire dans le cadre d’un tirage. (11 septembre 2018) Tous les bénévoles ont été avisés du résultat et YVR a confirmé la composition finale du comité. Une personne n’a pas été en mesure d’assister aux réunions, et un nouveau tirage a eu lieu (12 septembre 2018). Une mise à jour à l’intention de la collectivité présentant les membres du comité a été envoyée aux abonnés du projet. (13 septembre 2018)
  • A rencontré le comité consultatif le 18 septembre 2018 et le 2 octobre 2018.
  • A présenté un résumé des conclusions de la réunion du 18 septembre. La présentation de la réunion est également accessible. (20 septembre 2018) REMARQUE : Toutes les images contenues dans la présentation sont conceptuelles et visent à orienter la discussion avec le comité consultatif communautaire.
  • A présenté un résumé des conclusions de la réunion du 2 octobre. La présentation de la réunion est également accessible. (10 octobre 2018) REMARQUE : Toutes les images contenues dans la présentation sont conceptuelles et visent à orienter la discussion avec le comité consultatif communautaire.
  • Sollicité les commentaires de la collectivité sur les éléments de design, les améliorations et les commodités du corridor Templeton au moyen d’un sondage en ligne. Le sondage a pris fin le 10 décembre 2018.
  • La phase 3 de la mobilisation visait à recueillir des commentaires sur le design global de l’espace du corridor, les options d’aires communes sociales, le sentier polyvalent, l’aménagement paysager et l’art public. Tout au long de cette phase, un site Web a fourni des renseignements complets sur les efforts de planification et d’engagement de YVR à ce jour et a invité la communauté à dialoguer.
  • YVR a organisé une réunion d’information communautaire pour les résidents de Burkeville le 7 février 2019. Un résumé de la réunion, la présentation, les tableaux et le résumé des questions et des réponses sont accessibles (en anglais). Le rapport sommaire de la phase 3 de la consultation et l’annexe sont accessibles (en anglais).

(de l’hiver 2017 au printemps 2018)

En novembre 2017, YVR a entamé un dialogue initial avec les résidents de Burkeville au sujet du projet de réaménagement du secteur Templeton.

  • Lancement d’un sondage en ligne pour recueillir les commentaires de la communauté (du 23 novembre au 14 décembre 2017). Les membres du groupe Facebook de la communauté de Burkeville ont également invité les gens à participer et ont fourni un lien vers le sondage en ligne.
  • Compilation d’un rapport de consultation sommaire (en anglais) reflétant les commentaires de 136 résidents de Burkeville qui ont répondu au sondage et distribution de ce rapport à ceux qui ont demandé des mises à jour sur le projet. (12 janvier 2018)
  • A fourni une mise à jour du projet avec de l’information sur le réaménagement possible et les façons de participer dans le numéro de décembre 2017 du Sea Island Times, un bulletin communautaire distribué aux résidents de Sea Island.
  • On a demandé la participation de la collectivité aux phases subséquentes de la planification, y compris les plans de création d’un comité consultatif composé de cinq membres et l’organisation de futures journées portes ouvertes communautaires (printemps 2018).
  • Collaboration avec la collectivité pour déterminer la composition d’un comité consultatif communautaire. (du 12 au 27 janvier 2018)
  • Organisation des deux premières réunions du comité consultatif et production de rapports connexes (30 janvier et 13 février, 4 mars 2018).
  • Tenue de deux journées portes ouvertes communautaires (29 avril et 4 mai 2018).
  • Tenue d’un sondage en ligne pour recueillir les commentaires de la collectivité sur les plans proposés (du 29 avril au 4 mai 2018).
  • Le guide de discussion et les tableaux ont été rendus accessibles pour examen (mai, juin 2018).
  • Les réponses au sondage de rétroaction de la collectivité ont été compilées dans un rapport sommaire de consultation et mises à la disposition de la collectivité aux fins d’examen. (juin 2018)

Mobilisation future prévue

Nous apprécions la participation de la collectivité tout au long du processus de consultation et nous avons hâte de collaborer avec vous à mesure que la planification se poursuit.

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.