Skip to main content

2024 South Airfield Maintenance and Construction Projects

construction workers with plane taking off

Page last updated: May 7, 2024

Over the coming months, YVR will be conducting a series of construction and maintenance projects to continually improve and modernize our south airfield. Travellers and nearby communities may notice temporary changes to runway use at YVR as a result. This work is required to ensure we maintain a high level of aviation safety for the passengers and aircraft. It also prepares us for further upcoming work on other parts of the airfield.

YVR is working to plan and schedule the projects in way to minimize the effects of this work and appreciate everyone’s patience as it completes these projects safely and as quickly as possible.

LATEST UPDATE:

Routine and preventative maintenance activities on the south runway will continue through the Spring on Saturday nights for the month of April. From May to October, the work will be conducted on Monday and Wednesday nights.

Construction projects are anticipated to require additional closures, potentially up to 6 nights a week for various periods between the months of April and October. During these work periods, the south runway will be closed, and all take-offs and landings will be diverted to the north runway to allow safe access to the work areas. Up-to-date information about our south runway maintenance and construction schedule is here: South Runway Maintenance Schedule | YVR.

As a result of the nighttime closures of the south runway, some communities may notice increased aircraft activity over their community. YVR is carefully coordinating this work to minimize the overall project duration and effects of the temporary changes on the community as much as possible. However, the exact duration and timing of this work and when the north runway needs to be used is dependent on several factors, including the type and complexity of work to be completed and weather conditions. Further updates on the south runway closure schedules associated with the construction projects will be posted once the work details are finalized.

We want to assure our community members that we endeavour to work as quickly and as safely as we can so that we can return to our normal operating procedures.

If you have any questions about the south airfield maintenance and construction projects, please contact [email protected].

Construction vehicles 


We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.

Passer au contenu principal

Travaux de maintenance et de construction 2024 de l’aérodrome sud

DDernière mise à jour de la page: 7 mai 2024

Au cours des prochains mois, YVR mènera une série de projets de construction et d'entretien afin d'améliorer et de moderniser continuellement son aérodrome sud. Les voyageurs et les communautés avoisinantes pourraient constater des changements temporaires dans l'utilisation des pistes de l'aéroport. Ces travaux sont nécessaires pour maintenir un niveau élevé de sécurité aérienne pour les passagers et les aéronefs. Ceux-ci nous préparent également à d'autres travaux à venir sur d'autres parties de l’aérodrome.

YVR s'efforce de planifier et d'échelonner les projets de manière à minimiser les effets de ces travaux, puis apprécie la patience de toutes et tous pour mener à bien ces projets en toute sécurité et aussi rapidement que possible.

DERNIÈRE MISE À JOUR :

Les activités d'entretien régulier et préventif de la piste sud se poursuivront au printemps, les samedis soirs, pendant le mois d'avril. De mai à octobre, les travaux seront effectués les lundis et mercredis soirs.

Les projets de construction devraient nécessiter des fermetures supplémentaires, potentiellement jusqu'à 6 nuits par semaine pendant diverses périodes entre les mois d'avril et de octobre. Pendant ces périodes de travaux, la piste sud sera fermée et tous les décollages et atterrissages seront redirigés vers la piste nord afin de permettre un accès sécurisé aux zones de travaux. Pour en savoir plus sur le calendrier d'entretien de la piste sud, cliquez ici: https://www.yvr.ca/fr/about-yvr/noise-management/south-runway-maintenance-schedule

En raison des fermetures de nuit de la piste sud, certaines communautés pourraient remarquer une augmentation de l'activité aérienne au-dessus de leur communauté. YVR coordonne soigneusement ces travaux afin de minimiser autant que possible la durée globale du projet et les effets des changements temporaires sur la communauté. Cependant, la durée exacte et le calendrier de ces travaux, ainsi que le moment où la piste nord doit être utilisée, dépendent de plusieurs facteurs, notamment le type et la complexité des travaux à effectuer et les conditions météorologiques. D'autres mises à jour sur les horaires de fermeture de la piste sud en lien avec les projets de construction seront publiées une fois que les détails des travaux auront été finalisés.

Nous tenons à assurer les membres de notre communauté que nous nous efforçons de travailler aussi rapidement que possible et en toute sécurité afin de pouvoir revenir à nos procédures d'exploitation normales.

Si vous avez des questions sur les projets de maintenance et de construction de l'aérodrome sud, veuillez contacter [email protected].

Construction vehicles

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.