Skip to main content

Living Wage Policy

Vancouver International Airport exists to serve our community and the economy that supports it. YVR is a vibrant hub powered by a dynamic community of approximately 20,000 people and hundreds of business partners.

We are a people-centered business and we know the YVR team has ever-changing needs, especially as we navigate and recover from the effects of the pandemic.

We are a certified living wage employer;  this means that all Vancouver Airport Authority employees will be paid at or higher than living wage. By March 2023, all organizations having a direct service contract with YVR need to ensure their staff  working at YVR are paid a living wage.  We are working with our major service providers to implement this practice, which should benefit thousands of employees.

We aim to create and foster a work environment in which employees, service contractors and Sea Island business partners feel safe, healthy and valued. Our goal is to go beyond, to ensure everyone working at the airport, regardless of employer, is paid a living wage. To do this, we want to engage with all our business partners and explore this opportunity together. The process will take multiple years to complete and has the potential for YVR to become the first Living Wage Airport in Canada and potentially the world.

Not only is this the right thing to do but it’s also the smart thing to do. Paying a living wage helps ensure no one is left behind in affording basic expenses, helps reduce financial stress and provides greater opportunity to participate in enriching experiences in communities.

So how does the living wage formula work? It’s designated by Living Wage for Families B.C. and is the hourly rate of pay at which a household (two adults, two children) can meet its basic expenses. In Metro Vancouver the 2022 living wage rate is $20.52, $5.32 more than B.C.’s minimum wage.

To learn more about Living Wage for Families B.C. go to their website. For more information on our journey to becoming the first Living Wage Airport contact [email protected]  

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.

Passer au contenu principal

Politique sur le salaire minimum vital

L’aéroport international de Vancouver existe pour servir la collectivité et l’économie qui la soutient. YVR est un carrefour animé alimenté par une communauté dynamique d’environ 20 000 personnes et de centaines de partenaires commerciaux.

Notre entreprise est centrée sur nos employés, et nous savons que les besoins et les attentes de l’équipe d’YVR sont en constante évolution, particulièrement durant notre rétablissement des effets de la pandémie.

Nous sommes un employeur certifié Living Wage, ce qui signifie qu’en plus de nos employés déjà rémunérés au salaire minimum vital ou au-delà, d’ici mars 2023, toutes les entreprises ayant un contrat de service direct avec YVR devront également offrir le salaire minimum vital à leurs employés. Nous collaborons avec nos principaux fournisseurs de services à cet effet, ce qui devrait bénéficier à des milliers d’employés.

La politique du salaire vital de l'Administration de l’aéroport est axée sur les employés directs et les fournisseurs de services contractuels. Avec le temps, l'Administration de l’aéroport engagera d'autres organisations opérant à YVR, y compris des partenaires de concession tels que des détaillants et des fournisseurs d'aliments et de boissons dans le complexe de l’aérogare, des opérateurs de fret et des compagnies aériennes pour potentiellement explorer ensemble l'opportunité d'un salaire vital.

Nous croyons qu’il s’agit de la meilleure chose à faire. Le salaire minimum vital permet d’assurer que personne ne soit laissé pour compte en ce qui concerne les dépenses essentielles, de réduire le stress financier et d’offrir de meilleures possibilités de participer à des expériences enrichissantes dans les communautés.

Alors, comment déterminez-vous le salaire minimum vital? La formule que nous utilisons a été définie par Living Wage for Families BC, et il s’agit du salaire horaire minimal avec lequel un ménage (deux adultes et deux enfants) peut subvenir à ses dépenses essentielles. Dans le Grand Vancouver, le salaire minimum vital en 2022 est de 20,52 $, soit 5,32 $ de plus que le salaire minimum de la Colombie-Britannique.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur Living Wage for Families BC, visitez leur site Web. Pour plus d’informations sur notre parcours pour devenir le premier aéroport à offrir le salaire minimum vital, contactez [email protected]

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.