Skip to main content

Coronavirus

Background

We understand that there is an increasing concern among passengers, employees and the general public surrounding the coronavirus outbreak. It is important to remember that the Government of Canada continues to deem the overall risk to Canadians as low.

Additionally, while the World Health Organization (WHO) declared the Novel Coronavirus outbreak a Public Health Emergency of International Concern, WHO’s Director General Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus noted his key concern is the outbreak spreading to countries with weak healthcare systems. WHO also noted they do not recommend any travel or trade restrictions at this time.

We have full confidence in the Canadian healthcare system and the response measures already underway in Canada to detect and combat the spread of coronavirus, including effective airport screening. Canadian airports, including YVR, follow directions provided by the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC). PHAC is the federal agency responsible for making decisions about health-related screening of passengers at Canada’s ports of entry, including airports.

We have compiled some useful resources and information below. For the most accurate and up-to-date information on the coronavirus situation, please visit PHAC's website here. Additionally, PHAC has established a toll-free coronavirus information line at: 1-833-784-4397. 

Important note: if you have any concerns about your health, please contact your healthcare provider or dial 811 if you’re in British Columbia.  

What can people do to protect themselves?

According to PHAC, the best way to reduce your risk of infection is by taking the following precautions:

  • Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds
  • Avoid touching your eyes, nose, or mouth with unwashed hands
  • Avoid close contact with people who are sick

The wearing of masks is not a recommended preventative measure and should not be considered a replacement for any of the precautions above.

Hand-washing icons

Additional Resources

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.

Passer au contenu principal

CORONAVIRUS

CONTEXTE

Nous comprenons que l’éclosion de coronavirus préoccupe de plus en plus les passagers, les employés et le grand public. Il est important de se rappeler que le gouvernement du Canada continue de considérer que le risque global pour les Canadiens demeure faible.

De plus, alors que l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) déclarait l’éclosion du nouveau coronavirus une urgence de santé publique de portée internationale, le directeur général de l’OMS, le Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, a fait remarquer que sa principale préoccupation est la propagation de l’épidémie dans les pays où les systèmes de santé sont faibles. L’OMS a également fait remarquer qu’elle ne recommande aucune restriction aux voyages ou au commerce pour le moment.

Nous avons pleinement confiance dans le système de santé canadien et dans les mesures d’intervention déjà en cours au Canada pour détecter et combattre la propagation du coronavirus, y compris un contrôle efficace dans les aéroports. Les aéroports canadiens, y compris YVR, suivent les directives de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC). L’ASPC est l’organisme fédéral chargé de prendre des décisions liées à la surveillance sanitaire des passagers dans les points d’entrée au Canada, notamment les aéroports.

Nous avons compilé ci-dessous des ressources et des renseignements utiles. Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus exacts et les plus récents sur la situation du coronavirus, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’ASPC ici. De plus, l’ASPC a établi une ligne d’information sans frais sur le coronavirus : 1‑833‑784‑4397. 

Remarque importante : Si vous avez des préoccupations au sujet de votre santé, veuillez communiquer avec votre fournisseur de soins de santé ou composer le 811 si vous êtes en Colombie-Britannique.  

Que peuvent faire les gens pour se protéger?

Selon l’ASPC, la meilleure façon de réduire le risque d’infection consiste à prendre les précautions suivantes :

  • Lavez-vous souvent les mains avec de l’eau et du savon pendant au moins 20 secondes.
  • Évitez de vous toucher les yeux, le nez ou la bouche si vous ne vous êtes pas lavé les mains.
  • Évitez les contacts avec les personnes malades.

Le port de masques n’est pas une mesure préventive recommandée et ne devrait pas être considéré comme un remplacement des précautions ci-dessus.

Ressources additionnelles

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.