Skip to main content

YVR is 90! Thank you to our Community, Employees and Partners

YVR is 90

Today marks the official day we opened our doors in 1931. As we reflect on the many milestones over our 90 years, we’re excited to share with you an interactive timeline to bring our history to life. A collection of memories in celebration of how far we’ve come and where we’re going as we welcome back passengers and build on our role as the gateway to the new economy.

In 1931 our airport was a single runway, a small wood-framed two-story administration building, two concrete hangars, a floatplane harbour and a control tower. Today, we are Canada’s second busiest airport and a global industry leader. We are recognized for innovation, growth and reflecting the very best of our region while at the same time serving our community and the economy that supports it.

When we look back at 90 years of history and innovation it is impossible to narrow it down to 90 moments, but the timeline highlights some of the major milestones throughout our history. It includes terminal expansions, environmental achievements, route launches, community partnerships and even stretches back to before we were an airport, since the first sunrise over Sea Island and chronicles our important friendship with Musqueam

While we reflect today on 90 years and celebrate all we’ve accomplished together, the real message we wanted to send along to everybody – our community, our business partners and our employees – is thank you. Thank you for your support. Thank you for your contributions. Thank you for your ongoing dedication to making YVR great and helping us connect BC proudly to the world. We couldn’t have done any of it without you.

90 Years in 90 Moments

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.

Passer au contenu principal

YVR a 90 ans! Merci à vous notre communauté, nos employés et partenaires

YVR a 90

Aujourd'hui marque le jour officiel où nous avons ouvert nos portes en 1931. Alors que nous réfléchissons aux nombreux faits saillants de nos 90 ans, nous sommes ravis de partager avec vous une chronologie interactive pour donner vie à notre histoire. Une collection de souvenirs pour célébrer le chemin parcouru et où nous allons alors que nous accueillons de nouveau les passagers et que nous développons notre rôle de passerelle vers la nouvelle économie.

En 1931, notre aéroport était composé d'une seule piste, d'un petit bâtiment administratif de deux étages à ossature de bois, de deux hangars en béton, d'un port pour hydravions et d'une tour de contrôle. Aujourd'hui, nous sommes le deuxième aéroport le plus achalandé du Canada et un chef de file mondial de l'industrie. Nous sommes reconnus pour l'innovation, la croissance et une réflexion du meilleur de notre région tout en servant notre communauté et l'économie qui la soutient.

Lorsque nous regardons en arrière sur 90 ans d'histoire et d'innovation, il est impossible de le réduire à 90 moments, mais la chronologie met en évidence certains des évènements majeurs de notre histoire. Il comprend des agrandissements de terminaux, des réalisations environnementales, des lancements de routes, des partenariats communautaires et remonte même à avant que nous ne soyons un aéroport, depuis le premier levé du soleil sur Sea Island et raconte notre importante amitié avec Musqueam.

Alors que nous réfléchissons aujourd'hui sur 90 ans et célébrons tout ce que nous avons accompli ensemble, le vrai message que nous voulions envoyer à tout le monde - notre communauté, nos partenaires commerciaux et nos employés - est merci. Merci pour votre soutien. Merci pour vos contributions. Merci pour votre dévouement continu à rendre YVR formidable et à nous aider à relier fièrement la Colombie-Britannique au monde. Nous n'aurions rien pu faire sans vous.

90 ANS EN 90 MOMENTS

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.