Skip to main content

Airspace

NAV CANADA is the air navigation service provider for all of Canada. NAV CANADA designs and publishes flight paths and procedures according to standards set by Transport Canada and the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) to ensure safe and efficient movement of aircraft. 

Airspace around YVR

The airspace over the Lower Mainland is very confined and complex due the mountains to the north, US airspace to the south, numerous airports in the region, and a diverse mix of aircraft operating in the airspace. As a result, all areas of Metro Vancouver experience some level of aircraft over-flights. For further information on YVR aircraft routing and flight paths, please visit our FAQ page.

Vancouver Airspace Modernization Project

NAV CANADA, the country’s air navigation service provider, is proposing to modernize the airspace surrounding Vancouver International Airport (YVR).

Proposed changes are related to approach procedures at YVR and would result in new arrival routes into the airport. The routes used by departing aircraft as well as those used by aircraft operating under Visual Flight Rules would not change as part of this project. The project will also not change current runway use or Noise Abatement Procedures for YVR.

NAV CANADA conducted public consultation in December 2022 and January 2023 to ensure communities could learn about and provide input on the project and proposed changes for their specific area. Public consultation is now complete. Outcomes will be posted online once available. In the meantime, NAV CANADA has not implemented any changes to flight paths at YVR. Learn more about the project, proposed changes, and public consultation: www.navcanada.ca/VAMP. Learn about how runways and flight paths at YVR are currently used:

 

Background

The airspace around the Vancouver Lower Mainland and Southern Vancouver Island regions represents one of the busiest and most complex environments in Canada. It supports the significant community demand for passenger, cargo, flight training, and recreational operations with a wide range of aircraft types. In addition, the region is home to many airports, including YVR, the second busiest airport in Canada, as well as mountainous terrain and coastal weather patterns.

The airspace modernization project will help ensure the airspace can safely and efficiently support long-term demand for air travel and the essential role that aviation plays to support communities and the Canadian economy. The main objective is to enhance safety and to modernize the airspace by introducing new procedures based on current design standards and modern satellite-based navigation technologies, while reducing the industry’s environmental impacts.

Aviation plays a key role in our very own economy right here in British Columbia. YVR helps facilitate $20.2 billion in total economic output, $10.4 billion in total Gross Domestic Product and $1.4 billion in total government revenue in B.C. In addition, YVR supports more than 26,500 jobs on Sea Island and over 126,000 jobs across the province.

The new proposed arrival routes are designed to meet strict Transport Canada design criteria to ensure a high level of safety. While it is not possible to create new routes that completely avoid over-flying residential areas given the specifications of the design criteria, local geography of the region, and complexity of the airspace, careful consideration was given to place the new routes over industrial and commercial areas, bodies of water, and less populated areas where technically feasible.

For those with questions about noise management at YVR please check out the FAQ section on our Noise Management page. This page continues to be updated with any relevant information that might affect our communities.

To learn more about the project, proposed changes, and public consultation, please visit navcanada.ca/VAMP.

Airspace Change Communications and Consultation Protocol (ACCCP)

Should there be changes to the flight paths and procedures, the aviation industry is committed to communicating and consulting with the community about planned changes. The ACCCP, adopted in 2015, was developed jointly by Canadian airports and NAV CANADA to address community communication and consultation requirements related to changes to the airspace. It outlines how and when the aviation industry communicates and consults during airspace changes and defines roles and responsibilities of the parties involved. 

ACCCP 1 MB

Community Design Principles 

Following the adoption of the ACCCP, the YVR Aeronautical Noise Management Committee (ANMC) identified “community design principles”, intended to help airspace designers incorporate community considerations whenever flexibility exists to minimize disturbance on communities without compromising safety. 

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.

Passer au contenu principal

Espace aérien

NAV CANADA est le fournisseur de services de navigation aérienne pour tout le Canada. NAV CANADA conçoit et publie des trajectoires de vol et des procédures conformément aux normes établies par Transports Canada et l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale (OACI) pour assurer le mouvement sécuritaire et efficace des aéronefs.

Espace aérien autour de YVR

L'espace aérien au-dessus du Grand Vancouver est très restreint et complexe en raison des montagnes au nord, de l'espace aérien américain au sud, des nombreux aéroports de la région et d'un mélange diversifié d'aéronefs opérant dans l'espace aérien. Par conséquent, toutes les régions de la région métropolitaine de Vancouver connaissent un certain niveau de survols d'aéronefs. Pour plus d'informations sur l'itinéraire et les trajectoires des avions YVR, veuillez visiter notre page FAQ.

Projet de modernisation de l’espace aérien de Vancouver

NAV CANADA, le fournisseur de services de navigation aérienne du pays, propose de moderniser l’espace aérien entourant l’aéroport international de Vancouver (YVR).

Les modifications proposées concernent les procédures d’approche de YVR et consisteraient en de nouvelles trajectoires d’arrivée à l’aéroport. Les trajectoires utilisées par les aéronefs au décollage ainsi que celles utilisées par les aéronefs exploités selon les règles de vol à vue ne changeraient pas dans le cadre de ce projet. Le projet ne modifiera pas non plus l’utilisation actuelle des pistes ou les procédures d’atténuation du bruit pour YVR.

NAV CANADA a mené une consultation publique en décembre 2022 et janvier 2023 pour s’assurer que la communauté puisse obtenir des informations et donner son avis sur le projet et les modifications proposées pour leur secteur spécifique. La consultation publique est maintenant terminée. Les résultats seront publiés en ligne lorsqu’ils seront disponibles. Dans l’intervalle, NAV CANADA ne procède à aucune modification sur les trajectoires de vol à YVR.

Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet du projet, des modifications proposées et de la consultation publique : navcanada.ca/VAMP.

Découvrez comment les pistes et les trajectoires de vol sont actuellement utilisées à YVR :

Contexte

L’espace aérien entourant le Lower Mainland de Vancouver et le sud de l’île de Vancouver représente l’un des environnements les plus animés et les plus complexes du Canada. Il répond à l’importante demande de la communauté en matière de transport de passagers et de fret, de formation au pilotage et d’opérations récréatives pour un large éventail d’aéronefs. La région compte en outre un grand nombre d’aéroports, notamment YVR, le second aéroport le plus fréquenté au Canada, et est caractérisée par un terrain montagneux et des situations météorologiques côtières.

Le projet de modernisation de l’espace aérien contribuera à garantir que cet espace aérien peut répondre de manière sécuritaire et efficace à la demande à long terme en matière de transport aérien et au rôle essentiel que joue l’aviation dans le soutien des communautés et de l’économie canadienne. L’objectif principal est d’améliorer la sécurité et de moderniser l’espace aérien en introduisant de nouvelles procédures fondées sur les normes de conception et les technologies modernes de navigation par satellite actuelles, tout en réduisant les répercussions environnementales de l’industrie.

L’aviation joue un rôle clé dans notre propre économie, ici en Colombie-Britannique. YVR contribue à hauteur de 20,2 milliards de dollars à la production économique totale, de 10,4 milliards de dollars au produit intérieur brut et de 1,4 milliard de dollars aux recettes publiques en Colombie-Britannique. YVR soutient en outre plus de 26 500 emplois à Sea Island et plus de 126 000 dans toute la province.

Les nouvelles trajectoires d’arrivée sont conçues pour répondre aux critères de conception stricts de Transport Canada afin d’assurer un niveau élevé de sécurité. Étant entendu qu’il est impossible de créer de nouvelles trajectoires qui évitent complètement le survol de zones résidentielles, en raison des spécifications des critères de conception, de la géographie de la région et de la complexité de l’espace aérien, la priorité a été accordée, dans la mesure du possible, aux nouvelles trajectoires survolant les zones industrielles et commerciales, les plans d’eau et les zones moins peuplées.

Les personnes ayant des questions au sujet de la gestion du bruit à YVR peuvent se reporter à la section FAQ de notre page de la gestion du bruit. Cette page continue d’être mise à jour avec les informations pertinentes susceptibles de concerner nos communautés.

Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet du projet, des modifications proposées et de la consultation publique, rendez-vous sur navcanada.ca/VAMP.

Protocole de communication et de consultation sur les changements d'espace aérien

En cas de modification des trajectoires et des procédures de vol, l'industrie aéronautique s'engage à communiquer et à consulter la communauté au sujet des modifications prévues. L'ACCCP, adoptée en 2015, a été élaboré conjointement par les aéroports canadiens et NAV CANADA pour répondre aux exigences de communication et de consultation communautaires liées aux changements apportés à l'espace aérien. Il décrit comment et quand l'industrie aéronautique communique et consulte lors des changements d'espace aérien et définit les rôles et les responsabilités des parties concernées.

ACCCP  1 MB
 

Principes de conception communautaire

À la suite de l'adoption de l'ACCCP, le comité de gestion du bruit aéronautique d’YVR a identifié des « principes de conception communautaire », destinés à aider les concepteurs d'espace aérien à intégrer les considérations communautaires chaque fois qu'il existe une flexibilité pour minimiser les perturbations sur les communautés sans compromettre la sécurité.

 

 Principes de conception communautaire 70 KB

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.