Skip to main content

Non-discrimination towards passengers and employees

Vancouver Airport Authority strives to offer a great airport experience for everyone, free of discrimination, which is paramount to our success and reputation. We treat passengers with honesty and integrity, and we work with business partners to ensure passengers receive fair and ethical service. We uphold our standard of conduct to obligations found under the national Human Rights Act and elevate our standards through our corporate guidelines, found in the Social Policy and Code of Ethics.

YVR supports Canada’s linguistic duality, a cornerstone of our country’s rich heritage and diversity. We have a strong foundation in ensuring that we communicate in both French and English with the travelling public. Building on that strong foundation, we are continuing to broaden and expand our Official Languages Program.

We undertake a range of actions to ensure a goal of zero-discrimination. This includes full compliance with English and French language laws, 24/7 language line translation services offering services in more than 240 languages for passengers, concessionaires and airlines―including our newest addition in 2019 of a video call translation service, which includes sign language interpretation, offering 40 languages interpreted by video link. We offer training for our employees and customer care contractors, pictograms and language options on signage (English, French and Simplified Chinese), cultural awareness programs and inclusive washroom signage. Our language survey is conducted every few years to ensure we look after specific linguistic needs of passengers. The survey findings help us make improvements like including Simplified Chinese throughout the airport.

We also work hard to be as inclusive as possible, offering unconscious bias training and cultural cues training on a regular basis to staff and our Green Coat Volunteers.

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.

Passer au contenu principal

Lutte contre la discrimination envers les passagers et les employés

L’Administration de l’aéroport de Vancouver s’efforce d’offrir à tous une excellente expérience aéroportuaire sans discrimination, ce qui est essentiel à notre succès et à notre réputation. Nous traitons les passagers avec honnêteté et intégrité et travaillons avec nos partenaires commerciaux pour nous assurer qu’ils reçoivent un service juste et éthique. Nous respectons notre norme de conduite à l’égard des obligations énoncées dans la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne et élevons nos normes au moyen de nos lignes directrices d’entreprise, qui se trouvent dans notre Politique sociale et le code de déontologie.

YVR appuie la dualité linguistique du Canada, pierre angulaire du riche patrimoine et de la diversité de notre pays. Nous disposons de bases solides pour communiquer en français et en anglais avec le public voyageur. En nous appuyant sur ces bases solides, nous continuons d’étendre notre programme des langues officielles.

Nous prenons diverses mesures pour atteindre l’objectif d’élimination totale de la discrimination. Mentionnons notamment le respect intégral des lois en français et en anglais, un service téléphonique d’interprétation 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, qui offre des services dans plus de 240 langues aux passagers, aux concessionnaires et aux compagnies aériennes – y compris l’introduction en 2019 de notre plus récent service de traduction par appel vidéo qui comprend l’interprétation gestuelle ainsi que des services d’interprétation en 40 langues par vidéoconférence. Nous offrons de la formation à nos employés et à nos fournisseurs de services à la clientèle, des pictogrammes et des options linguistiques dans l’affichage (français, anglais et chinois simplifié), des programmes de sensibilisation culturelle et des panneaux de toilettes inclusifs. Nous effectuons une enquête sur la langue tous les deux ou trois ans pour nous assurer de répondre aux besoins linguistiques particuliers des passagers.

Nous nous efforçons d’être aussi inclusifs que possible, en offrant régulièrement de la formation sur les préjugés inconscients et les codes culturels au personnel et à nos bénévoles en veste verte.


We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.