Skip to main content

Project Green YVR Programs

Project Green YVR: Energy

Project Green YVR: Energy logo  

Under the Project Green YVR: Energy program, Climate Smart provides training and tools to help your businesses measure its energy and water footprints and achieve reductions while reducing associated costs. It consists of small-group training sessions, expert one-on-one advising and customized reporting/analysis with the goal of becoming Climate Smart certified. 

If your business is new to Climate Smart, YVR will cover the cost of training up to two employees and certification for one year (up to $3500 value). See climatesmartbusiness.com/yvr

Project Green YVR: Waste

Project Green YVR: Waste logo 

Under the Project Green YVR: Waste program, terminal food and beverage operators are invited to participate in the annual Waste Wars competition by diverting as much waste from the landfill as possible and improving recycling. 

Waste Wars rules are simple: organic waste goes in the green bin, plastics, paper and metals go in the recycle bins and the remaining waste goes in the garbage. For seven weeks, terminal tenants' waste bins are inspected weekly and allocated points based on their level of separation. The tenant with the most points wins and is recognized with prizes and a feature on the YVR blog and social media channels. Thanks to Waste Wars, in 2018, YVR surpassed its 2020 waste target three years ahead of schedule, achieving 51 per cent waste diversion. 

Project Green YVR: Water

Project Green YVR: Water logo  

YVR would like to help your business minimize rising costs tied to water treatment, wastewater disposal and associated infrastructure and support YVR's potable water reduction target of 30 per cent below 2012 levels by 2020. 

Under the Project Green YVR: Water program, YVR will fund initiatives tailored to your business such as water audits and kitchen/washroom fixture replacements. For example, in 2018, aerators and efficient pre-rinse spray valves were installed at 50 terminal businesses and washroom fixtures were replaced at two Sea Island businesses. Since 2016, this program has achieved an estimated annual water savings of 16 million litres. 

YVR Green Excellence Award

Clear Skies award trophy made of recycled chopsticks collected at YVR

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

If your business is doing great things for the environment, the Airport Authority wants to recognize your efforts. 

Formerly known as the Clear Skies Award, the YVR Green Excellence Award is granted to organizations that show outstanding commitment to saving energy, reducing waste, conserving water and improving ecosystem health. Winners are presented with a trophy (made out of recycled YVR chopsticks) and featured on the YVR blog and social media channels. 

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.

Passer au contenu principal

Programmes Éco-projet YVR

Éco-projet YVR : Énergie

Dans le cadre du programme d’énergie, Climate Smart, offre de la formation et des outils pour aider vos entreprises à mesurer leur empreinte énergétique et hydrique et à réaliser des réductions tout en réduisant les coûts connexes. Il comprend des séances de formation en petits groupes, des conseils individuels d’experts et des rapports/analyses personnalisés dans le but d’obtenir la certification Climate Smart. 

Si votre entreprise est nouvelle au programme Climate Smart, YVR couvrira le coût de la formation d’un maximum de deux employés et de l’accréditation pour un an (jusqu’à une valeur de 5500 $). Consultez climatesmartbusiness.com

Éco-projet YVR : Déchets

Dans le cadre du programme de gestion des déchets, les exploitants de services d’alimentation et de boissons des terminaux sont invités à participer à la compétition annuelle de gestion des déchets qui s’appelle la Guerre aux déchets en réacheminant le plus de déchets possible du site d’enfouissement et en améliorant le recyclage. 

Les règles de la Guerre aux déchets sont simples : les déchets organiques vont dans le bac vert, les matières plastiques, le papier et les métaux vont dans les bacs de recyclage et les déchets restants vont à la poubelle. Pendant sept semaines, les bacs à déchets des locataires des terminaux sont inspectés chaque semaine et des points sont attribués en fonction de leur niveau de séparation. Le locataire qui a le plus de points gagne et est reconnu avec des prix et une mention sur le blogue et les médias sociaux de YVR. Grâce à la Guerre aux déchets, en 2018, YVR a dépassé son objectif de gestion des déchets de 2020 trois ans plus tôt que prévu, atteignant 51 % de réacheminement des déchets. 

Éco-projet YVR : Eau

YVR aimerait aider votre entreprise à réduire au minimum la hausse des coûts liés au traitement de l’eau, à l’élimination des eaux usées et aux infrastructures connexes, et soutenir la cible de réduction de l’eau potable de YVR de 30 % sous les niveaux de 2012 d’ici 2020. 

Dans le cadre du programme de l’eau, YVR financera des initiatives adaptées à votre entreprise, comme les vérifications de l’eau et le remplacement des appareils de cuisine et de toilette. Par exemple, en 2018, des aérateurs et des vannes de prérinçage efficaces ont été installés dans 50 terminaux et des appareils sanitaires ont été remplacés dans deux entreprises de Sea Island. Depuis 2016, ce programme a permis d’économiser environ 16 millions de litres d’eau par année. 

Prix d’excellence écologique YVR

 Green Excellence Award 2019

Si votre entreprise fait de grandes choses pour l’environnement, l’Administration de l’aéroport tient à souligner vos efforts. 

Le Prix d’excellence écologique YVR est décerné à des organisations qui font preuve d’un engagement exceptionnel envers l’économie d’énergie, la réduction des déchets, la conservation de l’eau et l’amélioration de la santé des écosystèmes. Les gagnants se voient remettre un trophée (fabriqué à partir de baguettes recyclées de l’aéroport de Vancouver) et figurent sur le blogue et les médias sociaux de l’aéroport de Vancouver.

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.