Skip to main content

YVR Welcomes Latest Expansion to Canada’s China Transit Program

Connecting through Vancouver from China to the United States just got a whole lot easier, as five cities were added to to a visa-free program that will encourage air service development at YVR.

Effective immediately, five Chinese cities have been added to the list of approved Asian cities from which Chinese nationals can travel to YVR en route to the U.S. without requiring a Canadian visa. The addition of Xiamen, Fuzhou, Chengdu, Shenyang and Harbin more than doubles the number of mainland Chinese cities in the program.

For more than 20 years, Vancouver Airport Authority has been working with its partners to progressively expand visa-free transit between Asia and the Americas through YVR. Combining passengers destined for Canada with transiting passengers bound for the U.S. makes new routes commercially viable while contributing to British Columbia’s economy. The expanding China Transit Program enables YVR to capitalize on its geographic advantage and continue to grow as North America’s preferred connecting hub.

This announcement comes just months after the Honourable Chris Alexander, Canada's Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, expanded the program to include Tokyo and Seoul in May 2015.

Airlines currently participating in the program are: Air Canada, Air Canada rouge, Air China, WestJet, Cathay Pacific, Philippine Airlines, China Southern, Jazz Air, Sky Regional Airlines and Air Georgian.

More info here.

More posts from YVR Stories
  • YVR Stars

    Did someone at YVR go above and beyond for you today? Nominate a YVR Star and tell us your story.

    December 17, 2018

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.