Advisory: Winter weather conditions at YVR.
Details
Skip to main content

US Customs and Border Protection

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is the U.S. government agency responsible for securing U.S. borders and facilitating international trade and travel. Within DHS, U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) administers US. pre-clearance programs.

Through U.S. preclearance, the same immigration, customs, and agriculture inspections of international air passengers performed on arrival in the United States is completed before departure at YVR instead. Please note that US CBP is operational between the hours of 04:30 and 20:30. Passengers who are departing on flights outside of this time should contact their airline for more information.

Entry Requirements - Before You Travel

View documents and identification information to find out what documents and identification are required for entering the United States.

Customs Process – At YVR

Most travellers will use the self-service Automated Passport Control kiosks to clear US CBP.  Eligible users include:

  • US passport holders,
  • US permanent residents,
  • Canadian passport holders traveling for pleasure or temporary business (without a visa or permit), and
  • foreign passport holders with ESTA.

Ineligible passengers will need to fill out a paper declaration card, found in the US CBP area.

NEXUS

NEXUS is a trusted traveller program designed to speed up border crossings for low-risk, pre-approved travellers  between Canada and the United States (U.S.). It is jointly run by the Canada Border Services Agency and U.S. Customs and Border Protection.  It is primarily for Canadian and American passport holders or permanent residents. Learn more about NEXUS.

GLOBAL ENTRY 

Global Entry is a U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) trusted traveller program that allows expedited clearance into the United States for pre-approved, low-risk travellers with foreign passports. Learn more about Global Entry.

Passer au contenu principal

Douanes et protection des frontières des États-Unis

YVR est un aéroport offrant des services de précontrôle à la majorité des transporteurs aériens à destination des États-Unis. Les voyageurs remplissent donc les formalités des douanes et de la protection des frontières américaines avant de quitter Vancouver.

Veuillez noter que le service des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États-Unis est ouvert de 4 h 30 à 20 h 30. Les passagers dont l’heure du vol de départ n’est pas dans cette période devraient communiquer avec leur compagnie aérienne pour plus de détails sur l’enregistrement.

Exigences d’entrée - Avant de voyager

Consultez les renseignements au sujet des documents et de l’identification pour connaître les documents et les pièces d’identité nécessaires pour entrer aux États-Unis.

Processus des douanes – À YVR

La plupart des voyageurs utiliseront le contrôle automatisé des passeports pour passer US CBP . Les utilisateurs admissibles comprennent :

  • les détenteurs d’un passeport américain,
  • les résidents permanents des É-U,
  • les détenteurs d’un passeport canadien en voyage d’agrément ou d’affaires temporaire (sans visa ou permis)
  • les ressortissants étrangers avec ESTA.

Les passagers non admissibles doivent remplir une carte , disponible dans la zone US CBP .

NEXUS

Le programme NEXUS est conçu pour accélérer le passage à la frontière tant canadienne qu'américaine des voyageurs préautorisés à faible risque. Il s’agit d’une initiative conjointe de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et du Service des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États-Unis. Vous pouvez faire une demande d'adhésion au programme NEXUS si vous êtes citoyen ou résident permanent du Canada ou des États-Unis.  Renseignez-vous au sujet de NEXUS.

GLOBAL ENTRY

Le programme Global Entry est une initiative de l’US CBP qui permet un dédouanement accéléré aux États-Unis pour les voyageurs préautorisés à faible risque avec des passeports étrangers . Renseignez-vous au sujet de GLOBAL ENTRY.