Advisory: International arriving passengers can pre-register for COVID-19 testing
Details
Skip to main content

FAQ

Can I smoke or vape cannabis at YVR?

YVR provides a smoke-free environment inside our terminal buildings—at all times and for all substances. Those who wish to smoke or vape cannabis may do so at designated smoking areas only—outside the terminal buildings, in clearly marked areas. 

Can I purchase cannabis at YVR?

No. YVR does not sell cannabis or cannabis products.

Can I take cannabis with me if I am travelling through YVR on a domestic flight?

If travelling with cannabis in Canada, be aware that laws may vary by province and territory. It is your responsibility to know the cannabis laws wherever you travel.

Can I take cannabis with me if I am travelling through YVR on a flight outside of Canada?

Crossing international borders with cannabis is illegal.

Can I bring my cannabis paraphernalia with me?  

It is the responsibility of those passing through YVR to understand and adhere to all applicable local, provincial, federal and international regulations regarding the carriage and possession of cannabis and cannabis paraphernalia.

I have been prescribed cannabis as medication. Can I bring it with me on my flight?

This is a complex answer. Please refer to the CBSA website on cannabis legalization here

Can I smoke or vape cannabis between flights?

YVR’s terminals are smoke- and vape-free zones for all substances. Smoking or vaping of any kind is only permitted in the designated smoking and vaping areas outside of our terminal buildings. Please be advised that travelers who leave secured areas are asked to undergo standard security and customs checks prior to re-entering secured areas.

Can I consume cannabis before I fly?

Cannabis and cannabis consumption is illegal in many countries that YVR flies to. It is your responsibility to know the cannabis laws wherever you travel. Please keep in mind, YVR is a U.S. preclearance airport. If you are flying to the United States, in most instances you clear customs with U.S. Customs Border Protection (CBP) at YVR before boarding your flight. It is illegal to carry or be under the influence of cannabis according to U.S. law.

Where can I dispose of my cannabis at YVR?

Travelers who are flying to destinations in the United States or internationally are encouraged to leave their cannabis at home. Crossing international borders with cannabis is illegal.

Are amnesty boxes available at YVR?

No. Providing and maintaining amnesty boxes would be in violation of possession limits as set out in the current federal and provincial legislation. YVR is working with other airports across the country in exploring the possibility of an exemption under the legislation to permit amnesty boxes and YVR may choose to install amnesty boxes pending the outcome. It is illegal to cross international borders with cannabis and passengers travelling internationally are advised to leave their cannabis at home or to dispose of it prior to coming to the airport.

How will YVR monitor for intoxication?

Monitoring and enforcement related to cannabis consumption and possession is under the mandate of law enforcement agencies. It is the responsibility of those passing through YVR to understand and adhere to all applicable local, provincial, federal and international regulations regarding the carriage and possession of cannabis, at all times. 

Will I be denied boarding if I'm intoxicated or impaired by cannabis? How will you determine intoxication? 

We recommend passengers check with their airlines to ensure a clear understanding of their rules and policies. 

Will I be denied entry into the United States if I am involved in the cannabis industry?

According to U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP), a Canadian citizen working in or facilitating the proliferation of the legal marijuana industry in Canada, coming to the U.S. for reasons unrelated to the marijuana industry, will generally be admissible to the U.S. However, if a traveler is found to be coming to the U.S. for a reason related to the marijuana industry, they may be deemed inadmissible. More information is available here.

What happens if I'm travelling with cannabis on a domestic flight and we're diverted to the U.S.?

Passengers should be aware that unforeseen situations may and do arise that require domestic flights to divert to a U.S. airport, where arriving in possession of cannabis is not legal. In this case, U.S. laws would apply. U.S. Customs and Border Protection states that passengers "arriving at a U.S. port of entry in violation of this law may result in denied admission, seizure, fines, and apprehension." It is recommended that passengers understand their airline policies as you may be responsible for the consequences, including for payment of your return trip home.

Is vaping cannabis permitted at YVR?

You can vape cannabis in designated smoking areas, provided you are doing so in accordance with applicable laws.

Isn’t vaping cannabis illegal?

 There is no blanket prohibition on all vaping of dried cannabis. Whether your vaping is lawful may depend on the type of cannabis product you are consuming, among other things. If you choose to vape cannabis at YVR, it is your responsibility to ensure that you are doing so in compliance with applicable laws.

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.

Passer au contenu principal

FAQ

Puis-je fumer ou vapoter du cannabis à YVR?

YVR offre un environnement sans fumée à l’intérieur de ses aérogares — en tout temps et pour toutes les substances. Les personnes qui veulent fumer ou vapoter du cannabis peuvent le faire dans des zones réservées aux fumeurs, à l’extérieur des aérogares, dans des zones clairement délimitées. 

Puis-je acheter du cannabis à YVR?

Non. YVR ne vend ni cannabis ni produits du cannabis.

Puis-je prendre du cannabis avec moi si je passe par YVR sur un vol intérieur?

Si vous voyagez avec du cannabis au Canada, sachez que les lois peuvent varier selon la province et le territoire. Vous avez la responsabilité de connaître les lois sur le cannabis partout où vous voyagez.

Puis-je prendre du cannabis avec moi si je passe par YVR sur un vol à l’extérieur du Canada?

Sachez qu’il est illégal de franchir les frontières avec du cannabis.

Puis-je apporter mes accessoires pour le cannabis avec moi?  

Il incombe aux personnes qui passent par l’aéroport de Vancouver de comprendre et de respecter toute la réglementation locale, provinciale, fédérale et internationale applicable concernant le transport et la possession de cannabis et d’accessoires pour le cannabis.

On m’a prescrit du cannabis comme médicament. Puis-je l’apporter sur mon vol?

C’est une réponse complexe. Veuillez consulter le site Web de l’ASFC sur la légalisation du cannabis ici

Puis-je fumer ou vapoter du cannabis pendant les escales?

Les aérogares de YVR sont des zones exemptes de fumée et de vapeurs en ce qui a trait à toutes les substances. Fumer ou vapoter de quelque façon que ce soit n’est permis que dans les zones désignées à l’extérieur de nos aérogares. Veuillez prendre note que les voyageurs qui quittent les zones sécurisées sont priés de se soumettre aux contrôles de sécurité et de douanes standard avant de réintégrer les zones sécurisées.

Puis-je consommer du cannabis avant de prendre l’avion?

Le cannabis et sa consommation sont illégaux dans de nombreux pays vers lesquels YVR offre des vols. Vous avez la responsabilité de connaître les lois sur le cannabis partout où vous voyagez. N’oubliez pas que l’aéroport YVR est un aéroport de précontrôle des douanes des États-Unis. Si vous prenez un vol à destination des États-Unis, dans la plupart des cas, vous passez par le service des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États-Unis à YVR avant de monter à bord de votre vol. Il est illégal de transporter ou d’être sous l’influence du cannabis en vertu de la loi américaine.

Où puis-je me débarrasser de mon cannabis à YVR?

Les voyageurs qui prennent l’avion pour se rendre aux États-Unis ou à l’étranger sont encouragés à laisser leur cannabis chez eux. Sachez qu’il est illégal de franchir les frontières avec du cannabis.

Des boîtes d’amnistie sont-elles disponibles à YVR?

Non. Fournir et maintenir des boîtes d’amnistie contreviendrait aux limites de possession prévues dans les lois fédérales et provinciales actuelles. YVR collabore avec d’autres aéroports canadiens pour explorer la possibilité d’une exemption en vertu de la loi pour permettre les boîtes d’amnistie et YVR pourrait choisir d’installer des boîtes d’amnistie en attendant le résultat. Il est illégal de traverser les frontières internationales avec du cannabis, et on demande aux passagers qui voyagent à l’étranger de laisser leur cannabis à la maison ou de s’en débarrasser avant de venir à l’aéroport.

Comment est-ce que YVR surveillera-t-elle l’intoxication?

La surveillance et l’application de la loi liées à la consommation et à la possession de cannabis relèvent du mandat des organismes chargés de l’application de la loi. Il incombe aux personnes qui passent par l’aéroport de Vancouver de comprendre et de respecter toute la réglementation locale, provinciale, fédérale et internationale applicable concernant le transport et la possession de cannabis, en tout temps. 

Me refusera-t-on l’embarquement si j’ai les facultés affaiblies par le cannabis? Comment déterminerez-vous l’intoxication? 

Nous recommandons aux passagers de s’assurer auprès de leurs compagnies aériennes qu’ils comprennent bien leurs règles et leurs politiques. 

Est-ce qu’on me refusera l’entrée aux États-Unis si je travaille dans l’industrie du cannabis?

Selon le service des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États-Unis, un citoyen canadien qui travaille dans le secteur du cannabis au Canada ou qui en favorise la distribution et qui se rend aux États-Unis pour des raisons qui n’ont aucun lien avec cette industrie sera généralement admis aux États-Unis. Cependant, si on découvre qu’un voyageur se rend aux États-Unis pour une raison liée à l’industrie du cannabis, il pourrait ne pas être admis. De plus amples renseignements sont disponibles ici.

Qu’arrive-t-il si je voyage avec du cannabis à bord d’un vol intérieur et que nous sommes détournés vers les États-Unis?

Les passagers doivent être conscients que des situations imprévues peuvent se produire et qu’elles obligent les vols intérieurs à se rediriger vers un aéroport américain, où l’arrivée en possession de cannabis n’est pas légale. Dans ce cas, les lois américaines s’appliqueraient. Le service des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États-Unis affirme que les passagers qui arrivent à un point d’entrée américain en violation de cette loi peuvent se voir refuser l’admission, faire l’objet d’une saisie, d’amendes et d’une arrestation. Il est recommandé que les passagers comprennent les politiques de leur compagnie aérienne, car vous pourriez être responsable des conséquences, y compris du paiement de votre vol de retour à la maison.

Le vapotage de cannabis est-il permis à YVR?

Vous pouvez vapoter du cannabis dans des zones désignées pour fumer, à condition de le faire conformément aux lois applicables.

Le vapotage du cannabis n’est-il pas illégal?

 Il n’y a pas d’interdiction générale du vapotage du cannabis séché. La légalité de votre vapotage dépend notamment du type de produit de cannabis que vous consommez. Si vous choisissez de vapoter du cannabis à YVR, il vous incombe de vous assurer que vous le faites tout en respectant les lois applicables.

We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.