Skip to main content

Supplier Code of Conduct

Our Supplier Code of Conduct is one element of our commitment to safe and healthy workplaces for the people who make products or provide services for Vancouver Airport Authority. This Code identifies the minimum standards we expect of our suppliers; the Airport Authority’s goal is for suppliers to exceed this minimum by demonstrating sustainability leadership and innovation.

The Vancouver Airport Authority Supplier Code of Conduct sets out the minimum standards for our suppliers and their subcontractors to promote safe and healthy workplaces, basic fair labour practices and environmental responsibility. These minimum workplace performance standards are based on the core labour conventions of the International Labour Organization (ILO). We expect all of our suppliers to declare their compliance with the standards in this Code and ensure the standards are being upheld by any of their subcontractors. New suppliers will sign the Code when they enter into a business relationship with the Airport Authority; we will work with existing suppliers to obtain their sign-off, starting with the largest dollar-value contracts and/or most high-risk suppliers. We expect our suppliers to inform us of any challenges they have in meeting the standards within this Code and we will work with and support suppliers who are committed to continuously improving their workplace practices.

Freely Chosen Employment

The Supplier shall employ workers who choose to be employed by the Supplier’s company. All work shall be voluntary and workers shall be free to leave upon reasonable notice.

Age of Employment

Persons under the age of 15 (or 14 where the law of the country of manufacture allows) shall not be employed. Where hazardous working conditions exist, workers must be at least 18 years of age. The use of legitimate workplace apprenticeship programs, which comply with all laws and regulations, is permitted.

Non-discrimination and Diversity

Employment decisions must be made solely on the basis of knowledge, skill, efficiency and ability to do the job and meet its requirements and no person shall be subject to discrimination in hiring and employment practices such as promotions, rewards, and access to training.

Health and Safety

Workers will be provided with a safe and healthy work environment. Conditions in all work and residential facilities shall be safe, clean and consistent with all applicable laws and regulations regarding occupational health and safety. Employees must be made aware of health and safety guidelines in terms of equipment, training, and work practices.

Employee Treatment

The Supplier’s employees shall be treated with respect and dignity.

Freedom of Association and Collective Bargaining

The Supplier shall work directly with employees to find solutions to any outstanding legal and employment issues while at all times respecting worker rights to obtain representation and/or bargain collectively.

Wages and Benefits

Compensation paid to workers shall comply with all applicable wage laws, including those relating to minimum wages, overtime hours and legally mandated benefits.

Hours of Work

The Supplier shall ensure regular working and overtime hours do not exceed the maximum stipulated under local, regional, or national legislation except in emergency circumstances.

Environmental Responsibility

Suppliers shall take responsibility to reduce the environmental impact of their products and services as well as their overall operations or ‘in-house’ practices (e.g. energy conservation in their buildings). Suppliers must not be in violation of any national or provincial environmental regulations.

Anti-Corruption Business Practices

The Supplier will not, directly or indirectly, pay, give, offer or promise anything of value to any local or foreign government official (or to any person for the benefit of a government official) for the purpose of corruptly causing the government official to improperly act or use his or her influence in obtaining or retaining any business or securing any improper advantage for the Airport Authority or the Supplier.

Passer au contenu principal

Code de conduite des fournisseurs

Notre Code de conduite des fournisseurs est l’un des éléments de notre engagement à offrir un milieu de travail sécuritaire et sain pour les gens qui font des produits ou fournissent des services pour YVR. Ce Code détermine les normes minimales auxquelles nous nous attendons de nos fournisseurs; le but de YVR est que les fournisseurs dépassent ce minimum en démontrant un leadership en durabilité et en innovation.

Le Code de conduite des fournisseurs de YVR établit des normes minimales pour nos fournisseurs et leurs sous-traitants afin de promouvoir des milieux de travail sécuritaires et sains, des pratiques de travail équitables et la responsabilité environnementale. Ces normes de rendement minimales en milieu de travail sont fondées sur les conventions de travail principales de l’Organisation internationale du Travail (OIT). Nous nous attendons à ce que nos fournisseurs déclarent leur conformité à ces normes du Code et s’assurent que les normes soient respectées par tous leurs sous-traitants. Les nouveaux fournisseurs devront signer le Code au moment où ils entreprendront une relation d’affaires avec YVR; nous allons travailler avec les fournisseurs actuels pour obtenir leur adhésion, en commençant avec les contrats les plus importants financièrement ou les fournisseurs les plus à risque. Nous comptons sur nos fournisseurs pour nous informer de toute difficulté rencontrée avec les normes du Code et nous collaborerons et offrirons du soutien à ceux qui sont engagés à améliorer continuellement leurs pratiques en milieu de travail.

Emploi choisi librement

Le fournisseur devrait employer des travailleurs qui choisissent d’être employés par son entreprise. Tout travail doit être volontaire et les travailleurs devraient être libres de quitter leur poste dans des délais raisonnables.

Âge d’emploi

Les personnes ayant moins de 15 ans (ou 14 ans là où la loi du pays de fabrication le permet) ne devraient pas être employées. Lorsque les conditions de travail sont dangereuses, les travailleurs doivent être âgés d’au moins 18 ans. L’utilisation de programmes d’apprentissage légitimes en milieu de travail, conformes aux lois et règlements, est permise.

Non-discrimination et diversité

Les décisions d’embauche doivent se faire uniquement sur la base des connaissances, des aptitudes, de l’efficacité et des capacités de faire le travail et de répondre à ses exigences, et personne ne devrait faire l’objet de discrimination à l’embauche et à des pratiques d’emploi telles que les promotions, les récompenses et l’accès à la formation.

Santé et sécurité

Les travailleurs bénéficieront d’un environnement de travail sécuritaire et sain. Toutes les installations de travail ou résidentielles doivent être sécuritaires, propres et conformes à tous les lois et règlements applicables concernant la santé et la sécurité au travail. Les employés doivent être informés des directives de santé et sécurité concernant l’équipement, la formation et les pratiques de travail.

Le traitement des employés

Les employés du fournisseur doivent être traités avec respect et dignité.

Liberté d’association et de négociation collective

Le fournisseur doit collaborer directement avec ses employés pour trouver des solutions à tout enjeu juridique ou relatif à l’embauche en suspens, tout continuant à respecter les droits des travailleurs d’obtenir une représentation ou de négocier collectivement.

Salaire et avantages

La rémunération versée aux travailleurs doit observer toutes les lois salariales applicables, y compris celles liées au salaire minimum, aux heures supplémentaires et aux avantages déterminés par la loi.

Heures de travail

Les fournisseurs doivent s’assurer que les heures de travail normales et les heures supplémentaires ne dépassent pas le maximum stipulé sous la législation locale, régionale ou nationale, sauf dans des situations d’urgence.

Responsabilité environnementale

Les fournisseurs doivent être responsables de réduire l’impact environnemental de leurs produits et services ainsi que de leurs activités globales ou de leurs pratiques internes (p. ex. la conservation de l’énergie dans leurs immeubles). Les fournisseurs ne doivent pas être en violation de toute réglementation environnementale nationale ou provinciale.

Pratiques professionnelles anticorruption

Les fournisseurs ne doivent pas, directement ou indirectement, payer, offrir ou promettre quoi que ce soit ayant une valeur à tout représentant de gouvernement local ou étranger (ou tout intermédiaire d’un représentant de gouvernement) dans le but de corrompre celui-ci en lui demandant d’agir ou d’utiliser son influence de façon inappropriée afin d’obtenir ou de garder une affaire ou d’obtenir tout avantage malhonnête pour YVR ou le fournisseur.