Runway Operations

NORTH RUNWAY OPERATIONS TO REDUCE DELAYS

In 2015, more than 20 million people travelled through YVR – an increase of almost one million passengers. Based on our forecasting and as the demand for air travel continues to grow, we are anticipating even more passengers this year, especially during the busy summer months. Starting May 8, the north runway may be used for departures during the day to help reduce delays when the airport approaches capacity during peak periods.

When the Federal Minister of Transport approved the construction of the north runway in 1992, its operation was subject to several operating commitments. One of these commitments stated that the north runway would be used primarily as an arrival runway until such time as demand approaches capacity.

The Airport Authority has completed extensive studies to define peak times and looks at forecasted aircraft traffic level demand to determine the level of congestion on the airfield. Based on the forecasted demand, strategic use of the north runway for departures may occur between the following hours:

  • 7 AM to 8 PM Monday to Friday; and
  • 7 AM to 7 PM Saturday and Sunday.

During these hours, the community can expect to see some aircraft depart on the north runway. The number of aircraft departing on the north runway will vary each day depending on the traffic level and aircraft mix. During times when the north runway is used for departures there will be no change to the procedures and flight paths of aircraft departing on the south runway.

North runway departures will continue throughout the summer and operations will be reviewed to determine its use through the fall and winter months based on forecasted demand.

If you would like more information, please contact the YVR Noise Management at noise@yvr.ca

RUNWAY END SAFETY AREAS PROJECT AND SOUTH RUNWAY MAINTENANCE

In May 2016, the Airport Authority will begin the second-year of a three-year project to construct Runway End Safety Areas (RESAs) on the south runway and the crosswind runway. RESAs are specialized areas at the end of a runway designed to protect traveling public and to reduce the severity of damage to an aircraft in the unlikely event of an overrun or undershoot.

The RESA project and the annual runway maintenance program will be carried out from May 8 to September 17, 2016. During this time period, the south runway will be closed six nights a week (Sun-Fri) between 10 PM and 7 AM and the north runway will be used for all arrivals and departures.

While there is no work planned to occur on Saturday nights and statutory holidays, the north runway will be used for landings as the Instrument Landing System on the south runway will be out of service.

Passer au contenu principal

Activités des pistes

ACTIVITÉS SUR LA PISTE NORD POUR RÉDUIRE LES RETARDS

En 2015, plus de 20 millions de voyageurs sont passés par l’aéroport de Vancouver, soit une augmentation de près d’un million de passagers. En nous basant sur nos prévisions et sur la demande toujours croissante de voyages aériens, nous anticipons encore plus de passagers cette année, notamment pendant les mois occupés de l’été. À compter du 8 mai, la piste nord pourra être utilisée pour les départs pendant le jour afin de réduire les retards lorsque la capacité maximale de l’aéroport est presque atteinte dans les périodes de pointe.

En 1992, lorsque le ministre des Transports fédéral a approuvé la construction de la piste nord, les activités de cette dernière faisaient l’objet de plusieurs engagements en matière d’exploitation. L’un d’entre eux stipulait que la piste nord devait être utilisée principalement comme piste d’arrivée, sauf à l’approche de la capacité maximale.

L’administration de l’aéroport a mené une étude approfondie en vue de définir les périodes de pointe et a évalué les prévisions de circulation aérienne afin de déterminer le niveau de congestion de l’aérodrome. En fonction de la demande prévue, la piste nord peut être utilisée stratégiquement pour les départs aux heures suivantes :

  • Du lundi au vendredi de 7 h à 20 h
  • Samedi et dimanche de 7 h à 19 h

Pendant ces heures, les membres de la collectivité peuvent s’attendre à voir quelques appareils décoller de la piste nord. Le nombre d’appareils qui décollent de la piste nord variera chaque jour selon la circulation aérienne et les catégories d’appareils. Lorsque la piste nord est utilisée pour les départs, aucun changement ne sera apporté aux procédures et aux trajectoires des appareils qui décollent de la piste sud.

Les départs depuis la piste nord auront lieu tout au long de l’été et les activités seront évaluées afin de déterminer si elle devra être utilisée pendant les mois d’automne et d’hiver selon les prévisions de la demande.

Si vous souhaitez obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le service responsable de la gestion du bruit de YVR à l’adresse suivante : noise@yvr.ca.

PROJET RELATIF AUX AIRES DE SÉCURITÉ D’EXTRÉMITÉ DE PISTE ET ENTRETIEN DE LA PISTE SUD

En mai 2016, l’autorité de l’aéroport entamera la deuxième année d’un projet de trois ans qui consiste à construire des aires de sécurité d’extrémité de piste (RESA) sur la piste sud et la piste d’atterrissage par vent de travers. Les RESA sont des aires spécialisées aux extrémités d’une piste qui visent à protéger les passagers et à réduire la gravité des dommages causés à un aéronef dans l’improbable éventualité où il effectue une sortie de piste ou atterrit avant la piste.

Le projet RESA et le programme d’entretien annuel des pistes seront mis en œuvre du 8 mai au 17 septembre 2016. Pendant cette période, la piste sud sera fermée six nuits par semaine (du dimanche au vendredi), entre 22 h et 7 h, et la piste nord sera utilisée pour l’ensemble des arrivées et des départs.