Advisory: Winter weather conditions at YVR.
Details
Skip to main content

Wildlife Management Program

YVR is committed to ensuring safe aircraft operations and conserving the wildlife we share the skies with. This is why we have one of the most dynamic airport wildlife management programs in the world.

Wildlife Patrols—24/7

Armed with a deep understanding of wildlife ecology and a suite of non-lethal tools for managing wildlife, the YVR Wildlife Team patrols the airfield year-round. We use a wide range of methods—trained border collies, pyrotechnics, lasers and even stock whips—to scare and disperse hazardous wildlife.

Raptor Trap & Translocation Program

In 2014, we safely captured and removed a record 145 raptors through our Raptor Trap & Translocation Program. These birds are transported away from the airfield and marked with special tags so we can track their movements.

Falconry Program

The Wildlife Team deploys trained raptors through our Falconry Program. The trained raptors help us discourage hazardous shorebirds, ducks, geese and herons from remaining on the airfield.   
Wildlife Management
  • 16 Trained wildlife biologists working with YVR
  • 149 Raptors translocated safely from YVR in 2015

Passer au contenu principal

Programme De Protection De La Faune

YVR est déterminé à assurer une navigation aérienne sécuritaire et à protéger les animaux sauvages avec qui nous partageons le ciel. C’est pourquoi notre programme de protection de la faune est un des plus vigoureux au monde.

Patrouilles de sécurité pour les animaux – 24 heures sur 24, 365 jours par année

L’équipe de la faune de YVR, forte d’une connaissance approfondie de l’écologie faunique et munie d’une panoplie d’outils non létaux de gestion de la faune, patrouille sur le terrain d’aviation pendant toute l’année. Nous utilisons un vaste éventail de méthodes – border collie entraînés, pièces pyrotechniques, lasers, jusqu’aux fouets – afin de faire peur aux animaux sauvages et de les disperser.

Programme de capture et de déplacement des oiseaux de proie

En 2014, nous avons capturé et relâché de façon sécuritaire 145 oiseaux de proie grâce à notre programme de capture et de déplacement des oiseaux de proie, un nombre record. Ces oiseaux sont transportés loin du terrain d’aviation et marqués à l’aide d’une étiquette spéciale qui nous permet de suivre leurs mouvements.

Programme de fauconnerie

L’équipe de la faune utilise des oiseaux de proie entraînés dans le cadre de notre programme de fauconnerie. Ces oiseaux de proie entraînés éloignent du terrain d’aviation les oiseaux de rivage, les canards, les oies et les hérons, qui constituent un danger.

[fact-set]