Skip to main content

VAFFC Tank Farm Expansion

Vancouver Airport Fuels Facilities Corporation (VAFFC) is a long-term tenant of YVR that owns and operates aviation fuel storage and distribution facilities at YVR. VAFFC is planning to expand capacity at their current jet fuel storage tank farm, which is an existing use within our Airside land use designation in YVR’s federally approved Land Use Plan.

aerial view of Sea Island showing existing VAFFC operations in relation to the tank expansion area

Due to increasing demands and growth at YVR, VAFFC needs to increase the supply of jet fuel held on Sea Island to meet demand to ensure they have an adequate buffer to mitigate supply risks. It is critical to each airline’s operation that eight days of supply is an acceptable level to be held at airports across Canada. Resupply can be disrupted by a variety of factors.

 Current Facility

Expanded Facility

 Looking South Looking South 
image of existing tank farm
image of modified tank farm
 Looking North Looking North
image of existing tank farm
image of modified tank farm looking north

The two new fuel storage tanks will be located to the south of the four existing tanks on the parcel of land on the south side of Ferguson Road. These tanks are in addition to the four tanks on the north side of Ferguson Road which were installed in 2009. The design for the facility initially contemplated constructing six tanks, but was scaled back due to the global financial crisis. These initial plans envisioned the additional tanks would be placed in the current proposed location. NAV Canada has approved the location for the additional tanks with limitations so that the tanks do not impede the Instrument Landing Systems. Construction is expected to be complete by the end of 2020. Check yvr.ca/construction to stay up to date on construction activities.

If you have questions or comments about this project, please email community_relations@yvr.ca.

ABOUT VAFFC

Vancouver Airport Fuel Facilities Corporation (VAFFC) is a not-for-profit company owned by a consortium of commercial airlines representing most of the domestic and international carriers serving Vancouver International Airport (YVR). VAFFC owns and operates fuel storage and distribution facilities at YVR. These facilities are shared among the airlines, allowing them to avoid duplication and minimize costs. Similar fuel facility corporations operate at all of the major international airports across Canada.

VAFFC has more than 30 years of experience in aviation fuel handling activities at YVR. VAFFC contracts the management, construction and operation of its facilities to qualified organizations, and draws expertise from a network of experienced engineering and environmental consultants specializing in aviation fuel infrastructure.


We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.

Passer au contenu principal

Agrandissement du parc de stockage de la Vancouver Airport Fuels Facilities Corporation (VAFFC)

La VAFFC est un locataire à long terme de YVR qui possède et exploite des installations de stockage et de distribution de carburant aviation à YVR. La VAFFC prévoit accroître la capacité de son parc actuel de réservoirs de stockage de carburant aviation, qui correspond à une utilisation existante selon la désignation du territoire situé à côté des pistes du plan d’aménagement du territoire de YVR approuvé par le gouvernement fédéral.

En raison de l’augmentation de la demande et de la croissance à YVR, la VAFFC doit augmenter le volume de carburant aviation détenu sur Sea Island pour répondre à la demande et s’assurer d’avoir une réserve suffisante pour atténuer les risques liés à l’approvisionnement. Il est essentiel pour l’exploitation de chaque compagnie aérienne d’avoir un approvisionnement suffisant pour couvrir 8 jours d’activités dans les aéroports du Canada. Le réapprovisionnement peut être perturbé par divers facteurs. 

 Installations actuelles

Installations agrandies

Vers le sud Vers le sud
image of existing tank farm
image of modified tank farm
 Vers le nord Vers le nord
image of existing tank farm
image of modified tank farm looking north

Les deux nouveaux réservoirs de stockage de carburant seront situés au sud des quatre réservoirs existants sur la parcelle de terrain du côté sud de Ferguson Road. Ces réservoirs s’ajoutent aux quatre réservoirs du côté nord de Ferguson Road qui ont été installés en 2009. Le plan d’aménagement des installations prévoyait initialement la construction de six réservoirs, mais sa portée a été réduite en raison de la crise financière mondiale. Selon ce plan, les réservoirs supplémentaires devaient être placés à l’endroit proposé actuellement. NAV CANADA a approuvé l’emplacement des réservoirs supplémentaires avec certaines limites afin que les réservoirs ne gênent pas les systèmes d’atterrissage aux instruments. La construction devrait être terminée d’ici la fin de 2020. Consultez le site yvr.ca/construction pour rester au courant des activités de construction.

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires au sujet de ce projet, veuillez envoyer un courriel à community_relations@yvr.ca.

À PROPOS DE VAFFC

La Vancouver Airport Fuel Facilities Corporation (VAFFC) est une entreprise sans but lucratif appartenant à un consortium de compagnies aériennes commerciales qui représentent la plupart des transporteurs nationaux et internationaux desservant l’aéroport international de Vancouver (YVR). La VAFFC possède et exploite des installations de stockage et de distribution de carburant à YVR. Ces installations sont partagées entre les compagnies aériennes, ce qui leur permet d’éviter la duplication et de minimiser les coûts. Des sociétés semblables exploitent des installations de carburant dans tous les grands aéroports internationaux du Canada.

La VAFFC compte plus de 30 ans d’expérience dans les activités de manutention de carburant aviation à YVR. La VAFFC confie la gestion, la construction et l’exploitation de ses installations à des organisations qualifiées et fait appel un réseau d’experts-conseils expérimentés en génie et en environnement spécialisés dans les infrastructures de carburant aviation.


We use cookies to improve user experience, and by using this site, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more and how to manage your preferences on our Privacy page.