Advisory: Winter weather conditions at YVR.
Details
Skip to main content

Runway End Safety Areas

Runway End Safety Areas (RESAs) are specialized areas at the end of a runway that protect passengers and reduce the severity of damage to an aircraft in the unlikely event of an overrun or undershoot.

We are committed to excellence in safety. This is why YVR is proactively building Runway End Safety Areas (RESAs).

RESAs are specialized areas at the end of a runway that protect passengers and reduce the severity of damage to an aircraft in the unlikely event of an overrun or undershoot.

A RESA increases the level of safety to the travelling public. It offers an area that allows ease of access for emergency-response vehicles by providing an area that is free of obstacles and can support the weight of an aircraft without major structural damage.

Runway End Safety Areas - Phasing Schedule

Construction of RESAs on the south and crosswind runways began in the summer of 2015 and will continue during the 2016 and 2017 summer season. Planning for RESAs on the North Runway will begin in 2017. More information will be shared with the community and stakeholders during 2017.

Find out more about what RESAs are in the RESA Discussion Guide.

Passer au contenu principal

Aires de sécurité d’extrémité de piste

Les aires de sécurité d’extrémité de piste (RESA) sont des aires spécialisées aux extrémités d’une piste qui visent à protéger les passagers et à réduire la gravité des dommages causés à un aéronef dans l’improbable éventualité où il effectue une sortie de piste ou atterrit avant la piste.

La sécurité est une des valeurs fondamentales de notre organisme. Nous visons l’excellence en matière de sécurité. C’est pourquoi YVR construit de façon proactive des aires de sécurité d’extrémité de piste (RESA).

Les RESA sont des aires spécialisées aux extrémités d’une piste qui visent à protéger les passagers et à réduire la gravité des dommages causés à un aéronef dans l’improbable éventualité où il effectue une sortie de piste ou atterrit avant la piste.

Une RESA augmente le niveau de sécurité des passagers. Elle représente une zone dépourvue d’obstacle qui facilite l’accès des véhicules d’urgence et peut supporter le poids d’un aéronef sans subir de dommages structurels majeurs.

Runway End Safety Areas - Phasing Schedule

La construction de RESA sur les pistes sud et vent de travers a commencé à l’été 2015 et continuera pendant les étés 2016 et 2017. La planification des RESA sur la piste nord commencera en 2017. Nous fournirons plus d’information à ce sujet à la communauté et aux parties prenantes en 2017.

Renseignez-vous sur les RESA en consultant le guide de discussion sur les RESA.