Image of "Welcome Figures" art piece at YVR
  • Welcome Figures
    Year: 1986
    Artist: Joe David
    Dimensions and materials: Red cedar | Male 3.3 x 1.2 x 1.1 m; Female 3.0 x 1.1 x 1.1 m
    Terminal: International
    Level: Level 2
    Security access: Before security

    Carved in the Clayoquot tradition of the Nuu-chah-nulth people, these welcome figures are based on those that would be placed on the beach in front of a village or a big house to greet guests invited to special events. Each figure is designed to look out to sea, arms raised, palms facing upward. The male figure wears the traditional knobbed hat denoting a high-ranking personage, possibly a whaling chief. The female figure wears the common domed hat. Both wear an apron-like garment traditionally made from the shredded, beaten and woven inner bark of the cedar tree.
Image of "Jade Canoe" art piece at YVR
  • The Spirit of Haida Gwaii: The Jade Canoe

    Year: 1994
    Artist: Bill Reid
    Dimensions and materials: Bronze cast, 2.2, jade green patina | 6.05 x 3.89 m
    Terminal: International
    Level: Level 3
    Security access: Before security

    Often described as the Heart of the Airport, this acclaimed sculpture was inspired by nineteenth-century miniature canoes carved in argillite, a soft sedimentary rock that is found near Skidegate on Haida Gwaii. As with many historic examples of miniature canoes, this vessel is crowded with creatures and beings, their identities drawn from legends and oral histories of the Haida, and their forms energetically and sometimes fiercely interacting with each other in the manner of rivalrous siblings. Originally conceived and created for the new Canadian embassy in Washington D.C., it was installed in YVR to welcome visitors to the world.

Image of "The Great Wave" art piece at YVR
  • The Great Wave
    Year: 1996
    Artist: Lutz Haufschild
    Dimensions and materials: Glass | 10 x 40 m
    Terminal: International
    Level: Level 3
    Security access: Before security

    Ever changing with the light and seasons, this dynamic glass wall depicts the power and strength of the ocean along British Columbia’s rugged coastline. Thousands of 2.54 cm-wide strips of float glass were cut and assembled to enable the various tints that create a seascape in which large waves are rolling towards the viewer and an imaginary shore and to relate, symbiotically, with Bill Reid’s monumental sculpture The Spirit of the Haida Gwaii: The Jade Canoe.

Passer au contenu principal
Image de "Welcome Figures"  à YVR
  • Welcome Figures
    Année: 1986
    Artiste: Joe David
    Dimensions et matériaux: Cèdre rouge | Homme 3,3 x 1,2 x 1,1 m; Femme 3,0 x 1,1 x 1,1 m
    Aérogare: Vols internationaux
    Niveau: Niveau 2
    Droit d’accès: Avant le point de contrôle de sécurité

    Sculptées selon la tradition Clayoquot des Nuu-chah-nulth, ces figures d’accueil sont inspirées de celles qui étaient placées sur les plages devant un village ou une grande maison pour accueillir les invités lors d’événements spéciaux. Chaque personnage est conçu pour surveiller la mer, les bras levés, les paumes vers le haut. La figure masculine porte le chapeau à bosse traditionnel réservé aux personnages de haut rang; il s’agit probablement d’un chef de chasse à la baleine. La figure féminine porte le chapeau conique courant. Les deux personnages portent un vêtement ressemblant à un tablier, fabriqué traditionnellement à partir d’écorce interne déchiquetée, battue et tissée de cèdre rouge.
Image de "Jade Canoe" à YVR
  • The Spirit of Haida Gwaii: The Jade Canoe
    Année: 1994
    Artiste: Bill Reid
    Dimensions et matériaux: Moulage en bronze, patine vert jade | 6,05 x 3,89 m
    Aérogare: Vols internationaux
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Droit d’accès: Avant le point de contrôle de sécurité


    Souvent décrite comme le cœur de l’aéroport, cette sculpture acclamée a été inspirée par les canots miniatures du dix-neuvième siècle sculptés dans l’argilite, roche sédimentaire tendre qui se trouve près de Skidegate, dans la région de Haida Gwaii. Comme de nombreux exemples historiques de ces canots miniatures, cette embarcation est remplie d’êtres et de créatures issues de légendes et d’histoires orales des Haïda, aux formes interagissant les unes avec les autres de façon énergique et parfois farouche, à la manière de frères et de sœurs rivaux. D’abord conçue et créée pour la nouvelle ambassade canadienne à Washington, DC, elle a été installée à YVR pour accueillir les passagers du monde entier.
Image de "The Great Wave"  à YVR
  • The Great Wave
    Année: 1996
    Artiste: Lutz Haufschild
    Dimensions et matériaux: Verre | 10 x 40 m
    Aérogare: Vols internationaux
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Droit d’accès: Avant le point de contrôle de sécurité

    Changeant au rythme des saisons et de l’éclairage, ce mur de verre illustre la puissance et la force de l’océan le long de la côte déchiquetée de la Colombie-Britannique. Des milliers de bandes de verre flotté de 2,54 cm ont été taillées et assemblées pour donner les diverses teintes qui créent ce paysage marin aux grandes vagues déferlant vers l’observateur et la rive imaginaire, et créant une relation symbiotique avec la sculpture monumentale de Bill Reid, L’esprit de Haida Gwaii : Le canot de jade.