Image of art at YVR: Fog Woman an Raven

 

  • The Story of Fog Woman and Raven

    Year: 2007
    Artist: Dempsey Bob
    Dimensions and materials: Laminated yellow cedar, red cedar, acrylic paint, stone | Fog Woman 198 x 142 x 134 cm; Raven 213 x 81 x 178 cm
    Terminal: International
    Level: Level 3
    Security Access: After security

    This work tells the story of how the annual salmon run originated to benefit the people of the northern coast of British Columbia and the southern coast of Alaska. There are a few recorded versions of the myth, all relating to a distant time before the salmon existed as a food source for the Tlingit people. Carved from a red cedar log, Raven perches on the side of the pool, beak uplifted, smiling and well fed. Fog Woman, carved from a block of laminated yellow cedar, kneels at the head of a stream, which flows metaphorically toward river and ocean.

Image of "Orca Chief and the Kelp Forest" at YVR
  • Orca Chief and the Kelp Forest
    Year: 2007
    Artist: Lyle Wilson and John Nutter
    Dimensions and materials: Aluminum, glass | Orca Chief 5.59 x 5.99 x 0.91 m; Kelp Forest 4.98 x 0.56 m; Individual Glass 0.02 m
    Terminal: International
    Level: Level 3
    Security access: After security

    Orca Chief and the Kelp Forest is a collaboration between Haisla artist Lyle Wilson and artist John Nutter. Situated above the enormous aquarium in YVR's International Terminal, the work combines images drawn from ancient myths and cultural traditions of the Haisla people with contemporary Western materials and technology. It tells the story of Orca Chief, ruler of the sea, and demonstrates the Chief's power over its creatures as they swim through a kelp forest toward the viewer.
Image of "King Salmon" art piece at YVR
  • King Salmon Housefront
    Year: 1990
    Artist: Roy Henry Vickers
    Dimensions and materials: Carved and painted cedar | Panels 2.9 x 2.9 m; Centre column 3.3 x 0.9 x 0.4; Outer Column 2.9 x 0.9 x 0.3 m
    Terminal: International
    Level: Level 3
    Security access: After security

    This panel was created by artist Roy Henry Vickers, the first artist commissioned to create works for YVR. The piece is part of a series of works representing YVR's theme of Land, Sea and Sky. The King Salmon, representing the sea, has been the main food source for the people of the Northwest Coast for thousands of years and is honoured in Northwest Coast legend, song and dance.
Image of "Net Work" art piece at YVR
  • Net Work

    Year: 2007
    Artist: Eric Robertson
    Dimensions and materials: Cast aluminum steel | #1 (West) approx. 3.58 x 2.64 x 9.13 m; #2 (East) approx. 5.54 x 2.64 x 10.16 m; #3 (Middle) approx. 1.48 x 2.64 x 6.96 m
    Terminal: International
    Level: Level 4
    Security access: After security

    Net Work is an intriguing piece that includes three big herring balls, which are defensive formations created by groups of herring as they burst away from their schools, suspended from large dip nets. The installation captures the wonder and beauty of these important fish, which artist Eric Robertson describes as the "life-sustaining wealth" of the sea. It demonstrates the importance of herring in the complex marine ecosystem of the North Pacific Coast, while drawing attention to an uncertain future under threat of human impact.

Passer au contenu principal
 l'image de l'art à YVR: Fog Woman and Raven
  • The Story of Fog Woman and Raven

    Année: 2007
    Artiste: Dempsey Bob
    Dimensions et matériaux: Cèdre jaune lamellé, cèdre rouge, peinture acrylique, pierre | Femme 198 x 142 x 134 cm; Corbeau 213 x 81 x 178 cm
    Aérogare: Vols internationaux
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Droit d’accès: Après le point de contrôle de sécurité

    Cette œuvre raconte l’origine de la migration annuelle des saumons, au profit des peuples de la côte septentrionale de la Colombie-Britannique et de la côte méridionale de l’Alaska. Ce mythe compte quelques versions connues, qui parlent toutes d’une époque lointaine, quand le saumon ne représentait pas encore une source de nourriture pour les Tlingit. Sculpté dans une bille de cèdre rouge, le corbeau est perché au bord du bassin, le bec en l’air, souriant et bien nourri. La femme des brumes, sculptée dans un bloc de cèdre jaune lamellé, est agenouillée à la source du ruisseau, qui coule métaphoriquement vers la rivière et l’océan.

Image de "Orca Chief and the Kelp Forest" à YVR
  • Orca Chief and the Kelp Forest
    Année: 2007
    Artiste: Lyle Wilson et John Nutter
    Dimensions et matériaux: Aluminium, verre | Chef épaulard 5,59 x 5,99 x 0,91 m; forêt d’algues 4,98 x 0,56 m; verre individuel 0,02 
    Aérogare: Vols internationaux
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Droit d’accès: Après le point de contrôle de sécurité

    Orca Chief and the Kelp Forest est une œuvre issue de la collaboration entre l’artiste haisla Lyle Wilson et l’artiste John Nutter. Située au-dessus de l’énorme aquarium de l’aérogare des vols internationaux de YVR, l’œuvre combine des images tirées de mythes anciens et de traditions culturelles du peuple haisla à une technologie et à des matériaux occidentaux contemporains. Elle raconte l’histoire du chef épaulard, roi de la mer, et illustre l’autorité qu’il exerce sur les créatures marines, alors que celles-ci nagent en direction de l’observateur dans une forêt d’algues.
Image de "King Salmon"  à YVR
  • King Salmon Housefront
    Année: 1990
    Artiste: Roy Henry Vickers
    Dimensions et matériaux: Cèdre sculpté et peint | Panneaux 2,9 x 2,9 m; colonne centrale 3,3 x 0,9 x 0,4; colonne externe 2,9 x 0,9 x 0,3 m
    Aérogare: Vols internationaux
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Droit d’accès: Après le point de contrôle de sécurité

    Ce panneau a été créé par Roy Henry Vickers, le premier artiste auquel YVR a commandé des œuvres. Cette pièce fait partie d’une série d’œuvres représentant le thème de YVR, soit la terre, la mer et le ciel. Le roi saumon représente la mer et la principale source de nourriture des peuples de la côte nord-ouest depuis des milliers d’années; le saumon est en effet célébré dans les légendes, les chansons et les danses du Nord-Ouest.
Image de "Net Work" à YVR
  • Net Work
    Année: 2007
    Artiste: Eric Robertson
    Dimensions et matériaux: Acier à l’aluminium coulé | No 1 (ouest) environ 3,58 x 2,64 x 9,13 m; No 2 (est) environ 5,54 x 2,64 x 10,16 m; No 3 (milieu) environ 1,48 x 2,64 x 6,96 m
    Aérogare: Vols internationaux
    Niveau: Niveau 4
    Droit d’accès: Après le point de contrôle de sécurité

    Net Work est une œuvre intrigante formée de trois groupes de harengs séparés de leur banc, en formation défensive, suspendus sous de grandes épuisettes. L’installation illustre la merveilleuse beauté de ces poissons importants, que l’artiste Eric Robertson décrit comme la « richesse essentielle à la vie » de la mer. Elle démontre l’importance du hareng dans l’écosystème marin complexe de la côte nord du Pacifique, tout en attirant l’attention sur son avenir incertain en raison de la menace que représente l’être humain.