Skip to main content
Image of "Rivers Monument" art piece at YVR
  • The Rivers Monument
    Year: 2015
    Artist: Marianne Nicolson
    Dimensions and materials: Glass, stainless steel, red cedar and acrylic paint | 8.57 m tall; glass column tapes from 1.42 m at the bottom to 1 m at the top
    Terminal: Domestic
    Level: Level 3
    Security access: After security

    These two innovative glass-etched poles are a monument to the Columbia River and Fraser River, which carried a wealth of ancient names from the Indigenous Nations that fished and managed them. Each pole is a cut through of the river system, with the top of the column representing the surface and the bottom the riverbed. Each pole portrays a different history, with pictograph-like images of humans, fish, wildlife and water. Perched atop both poles are carved and painted red cedar eagles acting as witnesses.
Image of Raven Stealing the Beaver Lake art by Reg Davidson
  • Raven Stealing the Beaver Lake

    Year: 2016
    Artist: Reg Davidson
    Dimensions and materials: Cedar | 24-foot cedar pole
    Terminal: Domestic
    Level: Level 3
    Security access: After security

    Raven Stealing the Beaver Lake is a 24-foot carved cedar pole that illustrates an episode of Haida creation myth in which the Beaver people brought Raven to their great house and provided him with meals of salmon. Nearby are The Blind Halibut Fisherman and Raven with a Broken Break sculptures, as well as a large bentwood box traditionally used to store ceremonial regalia and other precious objects.

Image of "Freedom to Move" art piece at YVR
  • Freedom to Move
    Year: 2009
    Artist: Steve Smith
    Dimensions and materials: laminated red cedar, acrylic paint | 6.3 x 1.4 x 3.25 m overall
    Terminal: Domestic
    Level: Level 3
    Security access: After security

    Set on a black granite platform above a pool of water, this work encourages travellers to slow down and contemplate. Composed of six large, laminated red cedar panels, the work is filled with stylistic innovations, yet still alludes to Northwest Coast beliefs and graphic design conventions. The panels represent a host of crest and story creatures in a state of transformation, with their vertical orientation suggesting they are rising up out of dark water--emerging from a time and place of creation.
Image of "Sky to Sky" art piece at YVR
  • Sky to Sky
    Year: 2011
    Artist: Steve Smith
    Dimensions and materials: Mahogany plywood, medium-density fireboard, acrylic paint | 91 cm in diametre
    Terminal: Domestic
    Level: Level 3
    Security access: After security

    This installation acknowledges the ceremonial use of drums in First Nations culture. The pieces silently drum the arrival and departure of travellers at YVR, honouring the tradition of drumming for arriving and departing guests at an event. They reference YVR's theme of land sea and sky with creatures from all three realms. The lower drums contain animals of the sea, followed by land creatures such as the Bear and creatures of the sky at the top.
Image of "Snuw'uy'ulth" art pieces at YVR
  • Snuw'uy'ulth

    Year: 2009
    Artist: John Marston
    Dimensions and materials: Yellow cedar, acrylic paint, glass, cedar bark rope, abalone shell, operculum | 187.76 x 22.89 cm each, with the exception of the steersman paddle at 213.4 x 22.86 cm
    Terminal: Domestic
    Level: Level 3
    Security access: After security

    Coast Salish artist John Marston's installation is a metaphor of travel and the sea. The work alludes to the immense importance of the dugout cedar canoe to the indigenous peoples of the Northwest Coast, for whom it was the principal means of transportation for thousands of years. The paddles symbolize the canoe's protective spirit and represent "snuw'uy'ulth," meaning "the teaching of our nation." They are deeply carved and richly painted with stories of the Chemainus First Nation, with each portraying a different animal of importance to the culture.

Image of "Raven House" art piece at YVR
  • Raven House Posts
    Year: 1990
    Artist: Roy Henry Vickers
    Dimensions and materials: Painted red cedar | 3.3 x 0.9 x 1.5 m
    Terminal: Domestic
    Level: Level 3
    Security access: After security

    Created as part of a series of work representing YVR’s theme of Land, Sea and Sky, this installation focuses on Raven, a cultural hero in the ancient legends of Northwest Coast people. He is a revered and benevolent transformer figure who helps people shape the world, putting the sun in the sky, the fish in the sea and the food on the land.

Passer au contenu principal
Image de " Rivers Monument"  à YVR
  • The Rivers Monument
    Année: 2015
    Artiste: Marianne Nicolson
    Dimensions et matériaux: Verre, acier inoxydable, cèdre rouge et peinture acrylique | 8,57 m de haut; tissu de verre sur les colonnes, 1,42 m à partir du bas jusqu’à 1 m à partir du haut.
    Aérogare: Vols intérieurs
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Droit d’accès: Après le point de contrôle de sécurité

    Ces deux poteaux novateurs en verre gravé forment un monument consacré aux fleuves Columbia et Fraser, qui ont porté de nombreux noms anciens donnés par les peuples indigènes qui y ont pêché et les ont gérés. Chaque poteau se veut une coupe du réseau fluvial, le haut de la colonne représentant la surface du fleuve et le bas, son lit. Chaque poteau illustre une histoire différente à l’aide d’images pictographiques d’êtres humains, de poissons, d’animaux sauvages et d’eau. Perchés au sommet des deux poteaux, des aigles sculptés dans le cèdre rouge et peints font office de témoins.
Image of Raven Stealing the Beaver Lake art par Reg Davidson
  • Raven Stealing the Beaver Lake

    Année: 2016
    Artiste: Reg Davidson
    Matériau et dimensions: Cèdre | mât de 24 pieds
    Aérogare: Vols intérieurs
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Point de contrôle de sécurité: Après le point de contrôle de sécurité

    Le Corbeau volant le lac du Castor est un totem de 24 pieds. Cette sculpture illustre un épisode du mythe de la création des Haïdas où le peuple du Castor invite le Corbeau dans leur grande maison et lui offre des plats de saumon. Vous trouverez à proximité les sculptures Le pêcheur de flétan aveugle et Corbeau au bec cassé, ainsi qu’une imposante boîte en bois cintré utilisée traditionnellement pour ranger les insignes cérémoniels et d’autres objets précieux.

Image de "Freedom to Move"  à YVR
  • Freedom to Move
    Année: 2009
    Artiste: Steve Smith
    Dimensions et matériaux: Cèdre rouge lamellé, peinture acrylique | 6,3 x 1,4 x 3,25 m en tout
    Aérogare: Vols intérieurs
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Droit d’accès: Après le point de contrôle de sécurité
     
    Installée sur une plateforme de granit noir surplombant un bassin d’eau, cette œuvre encourage les voyageurs à ralentir et à l’admirer. Formée de six grands panneaux de cèdre rouge lamellé, elle regorge d’innovations stylistiques, tout en illustrant les croyances et les conventions en matière de conception graphique issues de la côte nord-ouest. Les panneaux représentent plusieurs emblèmes ainsi que des créatures imaginaires en train de se transformer, leur orientation verticale suggérant qu’elles s’élèvent au-dessus de l’eau sombre – émergeant d’une époque et d’un endroit de création.
Image de "Sky to Sky" à YVR
  • Sky to Sky
    Année: 2011
    Artiste: Steve Smith
    Dimensions et matériaux: Contreplaqué d’acajou, panneau de fibres à densité moyenne, peinture acrylique | 91 cm de diamètre
    Aérogare: Vols intérieurs
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Droit d’accès: Après le point de contrôle de sécurité

    Cette installation souligne l’utilisation des tambours dans les cérémonies des Premières nations. Les pièces accompagnent au rythme de tambours silencieux l’arrivée et le départ des voyageurs qui passent à YVR, comme le font moins silencieusement les tambours pendant un événement, selon la tradition. L’œuvre fait référence au thème « Terre, mer et ciel » de YVR en intégrant des créatures issues de ces trois mondes. Les tambours inférieurs montrent des animaux marins, suivis d’animaux terrestres comme l’ours, puis de créatures qu’on voit dans le ciel, tout en haut.
Image de "Snuw'uy'ulth" à YVR
  • Snuw'uy'ulth
    Année: 2009
    Artiste: John Marston
    Dimensions et matériaux: Cèdre jaune, peinture acrylique, verre, corde en écorce de cèdre, coquille d’ormier, opercule | 187,76 x 22,89 cm chaque pagaie, à l’exception de celle du barreur, qui mesure 213,4 x 22,86 cm
    Aérogare: Vols intérieurs
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Droit d’accès: Après le point de contrôle de sécurité

    L’installation de l’artiste John Marston, Salish de la côte, est une métaphore du voyage et de la mer. L’œuvre suggère l’énorme importance de la pirogue de cèdre pour les peuples indigènes de la côte nord-ouest, pour qui il a été le principal moyen de transport pendant des milliers d’années. Les pagaies symbolisent l’esprit protecteur du canot et représentent « snuw’uy’ulth », ce qui signifie « l’enseignement de notre nation ». Elles sont sculptées en haut-relief et finement peintes afin d’illustrer des histoires de la Première nation de Chemainus; un animal différent, important dans la culture de ce peuple, est représenté sur chacune d’elle.
Image de "Raven House"  à YVR
  • Raven House Posts
    Année: 1990
    Artiste: Roy Henry Vickers
    Dimensions et matériaux: Cèdre rouge peint | 3,3 x 0,9 x 1,5 m
    Aérogare: Vols intérieurs
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Droit d’accès: Après le point de contrôle de sécurité

    Cette installation, qui fait partie d’une série d’œuvres représentant le thème de YVR, soit la terre, la mer et le ciel, représente le corbeau, héros mythique des légendes anciennes des peuples de la côte nord-ouest. C’est un personnage de transformateur bienveillant qui aide les peuples à façonner le monde : mettre le soleil dans le ciel, les poissons dans la mer et la nourriture sur la terre.