Advisory: Winter weather conditions at YVR.
Details
Skip to main content
Image of "Musqueam Welcome Figures" art pieces at YVR
  • Musqueam Welcome Figures

    Year: 1996
    Artist: Susan Point
    Dimensions and materials:  Red cedar, glass | 5.2 x 1.3 x 0.2 m
    Terminal: International
    Level: 2
    Security Access: After Security

    The two Welcome Figures, standing near the bottom of the escalators, stairs and streams in Canada Customs Hall, display a traditional Coast Salish welcome to travellers. The deeply carved frontal aspects of both figures are inspired by historical Coast Salish house posts, while the back panels reveal the artist’s innovations on traditional images and motifs.

Image of "Flight (Spindle Whorl)" art piece at YVR
  • Flight (Spindle Whorl)

    Year: 1995
    Artist: Susan Point
    Dimensions and materials: Red cedar | 4.8 m in diameter
    Terminal: International
    Level: Level 3
    Security Access: After Security

    "Flight" is the world's largest Coast Salish Spindle Whorl and relates to the large-scale weavings included in this contemporary art installation. The artwork is presented in a setting of water and stone, symbolic of this land. The spindle whorl uses traditional images to depict the theme of flight. The eagle, which is considered a symbol of power, is designed around the image of a man whose arms are raised, welcoming visitors and also gesturing flight. On the chests of the men are salmon motifs to represent the Coast Salish people, who still live and fish along these shores.

Image of "Out of the Silence" art piece at YVR
  • Out of the Silence

    Year: 1996
    Artists: Krista Point, Robyn Sparrow, Debra Sparrow, Gina Grant and Helen Callbreath
    Dimensions and materials: Hand-dyed, hand-spun sheep’s wool | 4.9 x 1.5 m each
    Terminal: International
    Level: Level 3
    Security Access: After security

    These four large weavings represent an esteemed and enduring art form among the Coast Salish people. For many centuries before European contact, intricately woven Coast Salish blankets were worn or distributed during social and religious ceremonies. The women who created Out of the Silence chose to use a number of traditional patterns, made up of diamonds, squares and zigzags, to honour the endurance of their craft and to signify their identities as weavers.

Passer au contenu principal
Image de "Musqueam Welcome Figures"  à YVR
  • Figures d’accueil Musqueam

    Année: 1996
    Artiste: Susan Point
    Dimensions et matériaux: Cèdre rouge, verre | 5,2 x 1,3 x 0,2 m chacune
    Aérogare: Vols internationaux
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Droit d’accès: Après le point de contrôle de sécurité

    Les deux figures d’accueil, érigées près du pied des escaliers mécaniques, des escaliers et des cascades du hall de Douanes Canada, accueillent les visiteurs à la manière traditionnelle des Salish de la côte. Le devant des deux figures, sculpté en haut-relief, est inspiré des anciens poteaux de maison des Salish de la côte, alors que l’arrière révèle une relecture novatrice par l’artiste des images et des motifs traditionnels.

Image de "Flight (Spindle Whorl)" à YVR
  • Flight (Spindle Whorl)
    Année: 1995
    Artiste: Susan Point
    Dimensions et matériaux: Cèdre rouge | 4,8 m de diamètre
    Aérogare: Vols internationaux
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Droit d’accès: Après le point de contrôle de sécurité

    Il s’agit de la plus grosse fusaïole des Salish de la côte. Elle se rapporte au tissage de grande envergure compris dans cette installation artistique contemporaine. L’œuvre d’art est présentée sur un fond d’eau et de pierre afin de symboliser cette terre. La fusaïole est décorée d’images traditionnelles sur le thème du vol. L’aigle, considéré comme un symbole de puissance, est dessiné autour de l’image d’un homme dont les bras sont levés, accueillant les visiteurs tout en suggérant l’action de voler. Sur les poitrines des hommes sont dessinés des motifs de saumon représentant les Salish de la côte, qui habitent et pêchent encore sur ces rives.
Image de "Out of the Silence" à YVR
  • Out of the Silence
    Année: 1996
    Artiste: Krista Point, Robyn Sparrow, Debra Sparrow, Gina Grant et Helen Callbreath
    Dimensions et matériaux: Laine de mouton teinte et filée à la main | 4,9 x 1,5 m chaque tapisserie
    Aérogare: Vols internationaux
    Niveau: Niveau 3
    Droit d’accès: Après le point de contrôle de sécurité

    Ces quatre grandes tapisseries représentent une forme d’art ancienne et prisée chez les Salish de la côte. Pendant de nombreux siècles avant l’arrivée des Européens, les couvertures finement tissées des Salish de la côte ont été portées ou distribuées pendant les cérémonies sociales et religieuses. Les créatrices de l’œuvre Out of the Silence ont utilisé plusieurs motifs traditionnels composés de losanges, de carrés et de zigzags, afin de rendre hommage à la longévité de leur artisanat et de souligner leur identité de tisseuses.